We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ecusson Restaurant

L'Ecusson Restaurant
2 Rue Lieut Dupuis, 21200 Beaune, France
0380240382
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Ecusson Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 152 Restaurants in Beaune
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were introduced to L'Ecusson by Jocelyne and Jean-Marie the owners of the beautiful B&B La Saura. The food was outstanding from the amuse-bouche to the desserts, the wine list as expected was great. The service was relaxed yet professional, we make sure to have dinner at L'Ecusson everytime we are in Beaune.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    61
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you fancy a very special meal out in Beaune you couldn’t do much better than L’Ecusson. The food here is expensive but is of the highest standard and the service is top notch, with a maître d’ who was the perfect host and demonstrated complete control of the restaurant – a man who definitely knows his job. There is as expected a huge wine list. I chose the beef for main and it was served on an actual marrow bone – very cool. We ate in about 8 places in Beaune and this was probably the best meal, although the Ramparts ran it close. This place just edges it for quality of service without any hint of stuffiness. Of course booking is essential. A great venue for that one-off special meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was definately one of the best meals we have had in France. Everything was excellent - food, service, wine, ambience......
The price was reasonable for the quality. Highly recomended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the best food we eat in Beaune - high praise indeed. The menu was very tempting (we had the Autumn set menu) and the wine list very reasonably priced. The food was beautifully presented, amuse bouches at start and end almost like extra courses. The chestnut soup with foie gras and a poached egg was wonderful - black pork the same and the desserts looked and tasted superb. Service was attentive, friendly and warm. Do go to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The waitress who is also the chef's wife was great. She did not mind that we did not speak much French and offered to explain the whole menu in English for us. The food was very creative and the taste were amazing. The praen salad with lemon sherbert was divine. At the end her husband came out and thanked us for our compliments on the food and seemed humble and pleased. I definitely would go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecusson Restaurant also viewed

Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to L'Ecusson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ecusson Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.