We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye de la Bussiere

Abbaye de la Bussiere
La Bussiere sur Ouche | Dijon, 21360 Beaune, France
03 80 49 02 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 150 restaurants in Beaune
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took Travel Adviser's recommendation and were so very pleased we did. What a lunch - 7 courses. The preparation. presentation, service and atmosphere exceeded our expectation. The abbey and interior cloister were well preserved and cared for. The gardens and property were a delight for strolling after this lunch. From the time we entered the gates to the time we left, we enjoyed every moment. Staff were pleasant and eager to accommodate. We shall return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    30
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
slh11
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting,disappointing meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the beautiful Abbaye de la Bussiere for two nights and because of full days touring the wine country, decided to stay at the hotel for dinners both nights, rather than venture back out for a 30 minute drive into Beaune or another town for dinner. For us, the restaurants were a disappointment. The first night we were there, the main restaurant was not open. Instead, they offered a smaller room, more of a bistro style dining experience. (This is the same room where they serve breakfast, which was also a disappointment). We both had the salmon, which was fine, but not particularly interesting. The menu offered a limited choice of options, particularly for someone looking for a halfway healthy option. Obviously this is all very subjective and others may have found this menu and the menu in the main restaurant superb, but for us it was highly disappointing! The second night of our stay we ate at the main restaurant at the Abbaye. The room is very beautiful, indeed. The menu is quite fussy, and offers very few, if any, choices that are straightforward and 'healthy'. We therefore asked for chicken - simple chicken breast, and vegetables. They were very nice to oblige and served us chicken. However, the chicken was so undercookeed, it was actually shocking that it was served that way! I sent mine back to be cooked more. My husband ate around all the undercooked, very pink meat - which was a mistake, because he had stomach problems for days afterward which I am sure was attributed to this! We would have been so happy with a roast chicken or perhaps a Bresse Chicken (after all, Bresse chickens come from this general region, so why wasn't this an option on the menu?). In any event, the service was fine, everyone was generally pleasant and we are sorry to have to say that we were very disappointed in the food. If we stay at the Abbaye again, we will eat elsewhere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

An exquisite property tucked away in the Valley of Ouche 20 minutes outside of Beaune. Every attention to detail in the furnishings, rooms and the service. There is a limited menu if you are here when the main restaurant is closed but Otis definitely a unique experience of luxury ant peacefulness!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Most wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we arrived through the black and cream gates we knew we were going to have a wonderful lunch.
We were met by the owner and had a personal tour of this exceptional hotel.It has been very tastefully restored with excellant decor, and has the most wonderful collection of sculptures, these are just worth the visit never mind the food.
Lunch was served outside by great staff willing to help with anything, the food could not be faulted and the most wonderful wine chosen.
After lunch a walk round the grounds and a trip on the hotel rowing boat on the small lake was a perfect ending to the afternoon.
Just wish we could have stayed here but fully booked.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Sitting having lunch outside overlooking these beautiful gardens was unforgetable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable lunch at this 12th century abbey.The service friendly and food good.One can choose between a 2/3/4 course lunch.Highly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye de la Bussiere also viewed

 
Beaune, Cote d'Or
Beaune, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Abbaye de la Bussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye de la Bussiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.