We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie de la Poste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie de la Poste to your Saves list
Hostellerie de la Poste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, place Vauban | Bourgogne, 89200 Avallon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Avallon
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We broke our journey south in Avallon.

This is a lovely historical town and the hotel matches the town.

We ate in the dining room and it was excellent

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    20
    17
    10
See reviews for
21
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were having some trouble finding accommodation in Avallon when we found H de la Poste. The room seemed rather stylish in the way of a theatrical prop (looks good until a closer examination is done). After returning from dinner at a nearby restaurant, we discovered the heater couldn't be turned off. As it was quite warm, this required urgent attention. After an initial investigation there was nothing we could do. We had been told earlier that reception closed at 2130hrs (or thereabouts) so used the phone in reception that got me through to someone. The person responded quickly and came to the room but couldn't solve the problem. There was no hesitation in relocating us to another room.
The hotel seems more like a 3*. Peeling wallpaper and frayed carpet certainly detracted from what could have been a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Had called the morning of our arrival to reserve a room with double bed. Was assured that one was available and reserved the room with credit card. Upon arrival that evening, was surprised by the dirty carpet leading to the room and the frayed carpet down the stairs. As it turned out, we were given a room in dire need of a face lift with 2 uncomfortable twin beds with bedbugs (true), air conditioning didn't work, tiny old TV with very few channels, old fashioned bathroom with a small shower curtain resulting in flooding on the floor. Upon checkout, the staff acknowledged that we had indeed reserved a double bed and said that "someone" must have changed the reservation. Tough luck.
The whole place needs a major overhaul, both facilities and staff. Not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room, facilites and staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

This hotel is a real charmer. You won't get a LCD TV here. But, so what?We booked a triple room and were pleasantly surprised to get a separate bedroom for our daughter. The rooms were spacious. The floors sloped quite a bit; which was a little disconcerting; but not really a problem. That's just what you get in a hotel that's 200+ years old. The bathroom was fully updated; nice large tub; good water pressure; clean and spacious.The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. He insisted on showing us the room before checking in to ensure it would meet our needs. Then he helped us up with our suitcases.There is also secured, gated parking behind the hotel. A nice (and safe) extra.A booklet in the room describes the storied history of the hotel .....with all the famous guests including Napoleon. The hotel is located pretty much on the main square of Avallon. Everything in town is within easy walking distance. We would also highly recommend the 15 minute drive to Vezelay for a tour of the beautiful village and its hilltop pilgrimage church.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BE
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

We came to this hotel to discover Bourgondy for a long weekend. We took a standard room (chambre de charme) and got room 21. The room was quite small and just beneath the roof. It was not very clean and the were some minor moisture problems in the bathroom. e.g. the wallwaper in the bathroom was starting to come of the wall and some fungi poblems. In general, the room could use some renovation. The matras was of low quality and the bed was quite small for two adults.The wireless internet didn't work in our room.

No fridge in the room, very small TV (although not relevant for us).

Breakfast was OK, staff was not especially friendly, not unfriendly.
Don't know about dinner, because we had dinner elsewhere.

For me, this hotel was not worth its four stars, nor its price.

  • Liked — the private parking in the city center is nice (although sometimes full )
  • Disliked — not quite clean, not quite modern
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We recently stayed at the Hostellerie after a long journey in terrible weather with young children. The staff were superb - extremely welcoming, willing to help and courteous which was exactly what we needed! The restaurant was also excellent, as were the rooms (we had a family suite, which was perfect and excellent value for money compared to English hotels). All in all I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I originally wanted to stay in Room #12, where Napoleon slept on March 16, 1815, on his march to Paris after his escape from Elba. However, for the same price (108 euros) they showed me room #55, which is a semi-detached suite, with a small patio facing the garden.

It was beautifully furnished, with incredible character (canopied bed), a large bath, and aircon. The hotel is very quiet, the front facing the main square, but the back facing a nice park, which runs parallel to the length of the hotel.

The hotel is about a 5-7 minute walk from the train station, at the edge of the veille ville - a perfect location. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, and I really enjoyed my stay.

Napoleon's room is much smaller (but not small), with a balcony overlooking the square at the edge of the vielle ville. It is stylish with a nice bath, and a single bed.

I will definitely stay here again when I return to Avallon.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Poste

Address: 13, place Vauban | Bourgogne, 89200 Avallon, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Avallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Avallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A carriage entrance hides the genteel world of this former post house built in 1707 in the fortified market town of Avallon. Testimony to the French way of life, this hotel, with its timeless charm, has a series of rooms spread out along a paved courtyard giving onto an island of greenery. The spacious, traditionally furnished rooms are feature coordinated fabrics and superb bathrooms. Cooking brasserie purified in noon, served in the bar reorganized by the hotel: a warm place where thrones a luxurious fireplace, surrounded with artists' short-lived works in any kinds.Gourmet cuisine refined in the evening, served in the delightful atmosphere of a "Grand Siècle" style restaurant. Lunch either to have dinner, the new head cooker of the restaurant " La Calèche " proposes you allying dishes.The new team of “Hostellerie de la Poste” will be delighted to welcome for this Outstanding stop-over in Burgundy, half-way between Lyon and Paris, and just a step from Vézelay, eternal hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostellerie de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Poste Hotel Avallon
Hostellerie De La Poste Avallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.