We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, free parking, free wifi, and a good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parc des Marechaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Parc des Marechaux to your Saves list
Le Parc des Marechaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Avenue Foch, 89000 Auxerre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Auxerre
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, free parking, free wifi, and a good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived in the middle of a torrential downpour--not a good beginning, but the reception was warm and we were offered help with our luggage if we needed it. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the park in the back. Although it was a tight fit, the room was comfortable. Both the bed and linens were clean and soft. There wasn't much space between the bed and the bathroom door, which made for interesting times, as did the hand-held shower, My favourite part of our room had to be the large old windows that opened onto the picturesque park. They were needed as the room was very dark despite turning on all the lights. When it stopped raining, we managed to sit on the patio with a bottle of wine we bought elsewhere (10 Euros corkage fee). The staff were helpful and courteous, if not well-informed. We were told there were no celebrations for summer solstice when, in fact, La Fete de la Musique was going on all over town that evening. Oops. Best to go to the tourist information center for reliable information. Breakfast each day began with delicious coffee and warmed milk. The breakfast buffet was good-tasting, plentiful, and there was a variety of food from which to choose. We never went hungry! The central location made it very easy to walk into the center of town. I loved that we had to drop off the key each time we left and that the rooms had names, not numbers. We stayed in Mortier, which I recommend. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
79
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A 2 night, 2 room stay to visit vineyards in the area. The hotel is in a quiet location on the Northern edge of the old town. Within easy walking distance of the picturesque town and its many restaurants. Rooms furnished in old style, very comfortable, with good bathroom facilities. Weather was very good so were able to enjoy a good breakfast in the peaceful/pretty gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and all spoke English. We were given a very warm welcome by Rosemary ( a Brit), who was particularly helpful with the original booking to meet our requirements, as we understand not all the rooms are the same. There are good car parking facilities for a hotel so close to the centre. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

An excellent hotel near the centre of Auxerre with a high standard of service. Within easy walking distance of lots of restaurants. Managed by a very efficient and friendly multi lingual person who goes out of her way to ensure your stay is comfortable. Rooms are elegant and spotless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I fell in love with this hotel and the town of Auxerre from the first time I discovered them many years ago. The hotel is uniquely charming, its garden setting an oasis of charm calm and beauty. The staff is friendly, helpful and fluent in English. The hotel's charm includes free parking, reasonably-priced accommodations, rooms named after marshals of France and a location within walking distance of other points of Auxerre. One of my fondest memories is a visit coinciding with a music festival. One of the performers was lodged at the hotel and played the piano for the guests. If I arrive in Paris, le Parc des Marechaux is my first stop. If I leave from Paris, I always arrange to spend 2 or 3 days there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An absolutely charming gem. Situated in a park-like garden on the outskirts of Auxerre. Large (at least I had one) rooms, well-furnished with period pieces. Quiet an airy. Very good breakfast - for France! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were looking for somewhere to stay with parking whilst close to the town centre. The parking was within the hotel grounds on a side area which was fine, although there wasn't an abundance of spaces which may prove a problem if the hotel was fully booked. The walk into the town centre took 5-10 mins. There are some stairs from the garden to the reception area although this wasn't a problem for us.

The room we had was located at the rear of the building overlooking the gardens and was quiet.
My general feeling would be that although our room was clean it was quite small along with too many pieces of furniture making it quite difficult to open suitcases and manoeuvre. The sofa bed was also very hard.

We opted for the breakfast which was continental style with no hot options and the breakfast room was small and awkward.


Whilst the staff were pleasant I do feel the decor in the hotel is very tired in parts: one particular chandelier was hanging very low from the ceiling by a loose wire which hit my head a couple of times -

I feel the hotel is overpriced and doesn't justify 4 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A pebbled path leads from the parking to the hotel door and then up a couple of steps to reception. This was not very convenient for someone arriving in heels with a large laptop bag and a suitcase, after a very long drive.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, also fluent in English.
The hotel is very well located within walking distance to the center of town.
I was given a corner room, facing a bit of parking area and the park. The room was charming in some ways but at the same time very dark.
The bathroom wasn't thouroughly cleaned as I found some strange hair here and there.
The big disappointment was a hand-held shower though.
The walls of the rooms are so thin, that I could hear my neighbour snoring.
Breakfast was good, but basic. Enough for me to eat to satisfy my tummy, but not enough for the price asked.
If I end up in Auxerre again, I might stay there again as it was nice, but I would probably rather be tempted to stay elsewhere instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Parc des Marechaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Parc des Marechaux

Address: 6 Avenue Foch, 89000 Auxerre, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Parc des Marechaux 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Parc des Marechaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parc Des Marechaux Auxerre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Parc des Marechaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.