We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for visiting Old Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Maxime

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Maxime to your Saves list
Hotel Le Maxime
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 quai de la Marine, 89000 Auxerre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Auxerre
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great Location for visiting Old Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is an excellent choice if you're interested in visiting the Old Town...which is just up the hill--beautiful cathedral, half-timbered houses, etc. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff is very friendly, The breakfast buffet was worth the typical charge in Europe these days of 12 Euros per person--varied foods--cereal, yogurt, meat, cheese, boiled eggs, croissants, juice, coffee, etc.--all kept fresh and hot. I recommend reserving the parking spot--even though it was 8 Euros...the hotel is directly on the river and parking can be at a premium, as it was when we were there right before Easter. I wish we'd eaten at the Hotel restaurant, which was recommended, but my husband wanted to "explore", and we ended up eating someplace else. The set menu with various prices offer great choices of typical French specialties.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
57
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent a night here before a week on the canal and river and it was a great start. I had contacted the hotel a few weeks before to book a parking place and had received a quick and positive repsonse and yes it was all ready when we arrived. The rooms were clean and had lovely views across the rivers with surprisingly little noise from the road. Huge bed and well appointed bathroom. Staff were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction of a great restaurant. Breakfast was good and with a nice choice of fruit and pastries. Will stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with the view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The hotel has a convenient location by the river, from where it is a short uphill walk into the city centre. Our room faced the old city and was quiet and rather small, but those on the other side of the building face the river and suffer from traffic noise. The car park is safe and easier to use than some have suggested. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Located across the street from the waterfront, with a bar that has seating on the water, this is a good place to view the beauty of Auxerre at night. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and comfortable speaking English. Our room was pleasant and clean. We did not
select the breakfast, as we preferred walking to the city centre for a coffee and pastry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Spent one night here prior to picking a boat to cruise canals for 4 days. Older hotel but recently refurbished & overlooking the Yonne river. Spacious room with 2 seperate bedrooms & seperate living room. Ideal for families and/or couples sharing. Balcony overlooking the river. Clean & comfortable. Very helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi & parking (limited number of stalls at rear). Did not have breakfast at hotel as pricey.

Room Tip: Parking is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The staff at Le Maxime are one of the friendliest hotel staff's I have encountered in a while. A special thank you goes to Corinne. I had a question after I came home and she took the time to email. I arrived at the hotel before check-in, she took my bag, showed me the bathroom to freshen up and gave me a map and other information before I set out. The hotel is located across from the water about a 5-10 minute walk into the old town. There are a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. What else can you ask for?

On the day I was leaving, the hotel called a cab to meet me at the car rental drop off. I was running late and the hotel made sure the cab would be still waiting for me. Given I had a car this was a great location as you could park your car at the hotel as soon as you drove into town and just leave it there. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Auxerre. Parking was 8 euros.

Room Tip: Your choices are either overlooking the parking lot or the water. The street in front is busy, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Le Maxime is a traditional hotel in the best sense of the word. The staff knows the meaning of the word "hospitality"--they did their best to make our stay delightful (Merci, Nadege!) We had different rooms for stays a week apart, and both were very clean and quiet, well equipped and comfortable. The bar/salon was welcoming, with a computer readily available; the parking facilities are excellent; the breakfast room is charming and the breakfast very satisfactory. Auxerre was so charming, as was the hotel, that we cut short a stay elsewhere to come back. We'll definitely go back to Le Maxime.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view, just because it's prettier than the courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Maxime

Address: 2 quai de la Marine, 89000 Auxerre, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Maxime 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maxime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Maxime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.