We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good 'modern French' restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant le Chapitre

Restaurant le Chapitre
13 Place du terreau, 71400 Autun, France
03 85 52 04 01
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurant le Chapitre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Autun
Price range: $0 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very good 'modern French' restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good and interesting food - sophisticated and modern style with lots of nice little touches - e.g complimentary amuse bouche, soup and good petit fours with coffee. Good service and ambience. Busy and full of local people. Good position opposite the Cathedral. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a must in Autun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I just had a wonderful dinner at le Chapitre. We were looking for a place to eat around the cathedral and most of the restaurants were full of people and were quite noisy. I found this restaurant at the corner and it was very quiet and clean. Menu looks very interesting.So we went in and it was a bit risky because the price is higher than other onez around the cathedral. It turned out the dinner was such a pleasant surpris!!! Some reviews say the restaurant is a little bit expensive, but I think it's underpriced given the quality! 28 bucks for a very good three courses meal, you do the math! Go for it and you will be amazed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This contemporary restaurant is situated by the cathedral, which gives a great view when it's illuminated. The menu has a good variety of sophisticated dishes. The food was very well presented and of a very high quality. There is a good choice of wines available. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. This restaurant is a must if you are in Autun, because a number of the others are very ordinary.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fitzroy, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great surprise in Autun, an outstanding dinner ...a luxury for gluten free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had no idea what Le Chapitre was going to be. We walked around the corner from Maison Sainte Barbe and it was cold and the restaurant looked so inviting.There was one table left so we went in.

From the moment we arrived we realized we were in a very special and professional restarurant. The waitress was so prfessional managingbthe room alone.We discussed the menu du jour, went through the fact I'm gluten free. Instead of beng offered normal meat or fish with chips and salad I had a gourmet meal. The wine and food was top quality, a bit out there, and so beautiful. I wish we could have gone again but t was booked out.The duck was magnificent served with home made pistachio nougat .... Yes and it was scrumptious.

It was full of local French people, families with children, couples.

We consider ourselves so fortunate to have been there. We discussed it and think it was our best French meal in the week we were there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in beautiful Autun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This restaurant was really lovely - very cosy and French with delicious food and wonderful service. Highly recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant le Chapitre also viewed

Autun, Saone-et-Loire
 
Autun, Saone-et-Loire
Autun, Saone-et-Loire
 

Been to Restaurant le Chapitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant le Chapitre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.