We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel conveniently situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Courtoisville

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de Courtoisville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 boulevard Hebert, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 80 hotels in Saint-Malo
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel conveniently situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent a stopover night here. It is a quiet traditional hotel in a pleasant garden. The room was spacious with wonderful electronic beds. The bathroom was spacious and airy but a little dated, with a separate loo (on the other side of the bedroom - weird). The staff were pleasant and helpful and breakfast was very good.

The hotel is conveniently situated one street back from the sea front, and it was a lovely walk into St Malo centre. Private secure parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    71
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
58
104
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

This was our first hotel stay in France and generally our one night stay was a pleasant experience. We paid £90 for a double room that was located in an annexe to the main hotel building, and didn't include breakfast. The room was comfortable however the bath didn't have a curtain or shower head holder so one couldn't take a proper shower. There was no coffee/tea making facility or fridge in the room, however these may not be common place in French hotel rooms; nevertheless both would've been welcome and we would stay again if these facilities were available. The service at the reception was excellent and very helpful and there is an excellent pattiserie on a neighbouring street should croissants or pain aux chocolat be necessary for breakfast. There is free parking and the hotel is located a brisk but pleasant 20 min walk to the walled city.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We arrived after 6pm one Wednesday in early September, after the end of the high season period and were able to obtain a significant reduction in the room rate from the polite and knowledgeable receptionist. He made great play of selecting us the best available room and personally escorting us to and showing us the room. The room was spacious, modern, clean and well equipped and allowed us a quiet night's sleep.
The location of the hotel is only 100 metres back from the sea front and the magnificent sandy beach and within easy walking distance of St Malo's harbour and delightful old walled town.
The typical French buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful, served in a pleasant breakfast room. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, preferring to dine at one of the great selection of restaurants in the walled town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We found the service to be excellent, all the staff very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, really close to the beach. Swimming pool is great in raining days (covered). We had a fantastic time, nice walk along the beach to reach the intra-murs city. I would definately recommend this hotel, managers and staff are so welcoming and love having children around (even in the restaurant) !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Big problem at check in; the computer had lost our booking. Whether the hotel or the booking agency's (not Tripadvisor) equipment was at fault was unclear. But they sorted it promptly even though the four of us had to share one room for the first night. A longish walk from the old city but we liked our eventual rooms (big bright and clean) and our teenagers liked the pool and pool table. Restaurant was only average and not cheap but breakfast was good. Helpful (and in one case) most glamorous staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Travelled here for 3 days’ nights with two young children (under 10). It's quite expensive but you pay for the location as 30 seconds from beach.
I was shocked by price of food. Kids and I ate in one night and basic meal with a bottle of wine came to over 70 euros.
Rooms are very hot with no air conditioning and there are no facilities for children. It's a very grown up hotel. There was a pool but very basic with no facilities and nothing geared towards children.
There is a TV in the room but no English channels - might be nice to have one dedicated to English broadcasts coinsiering how many UK guests they have.
The staff all speak fantastic English, are charming, very helpful and attentive but I wouldn't stay here again just because for what it cost me, I'd want more value for money.
I'd recommend this for adults but not for anyone travelling with kids.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Uk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We found the service to be excellent, all the staff very helpful and friendly. We had booked a classic room and when we arrived were told we had been upgraded to a superior at no extra cost. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and had a balcony. It was spotlessly clean with electric shutters at the windows. We were impressed with the adjustable bed, handy for watching TV. We were able to watch BBC 1 and Channel 4. The weather wasnt too good during our stay so it was nice to be able to have a swim in the heated indoor pool, a good size and very clean. We didnt eat in the hotel but the restaurant looked very nice. We found a pattisserie just round the corner where we had croissants and coffee for breakfast and an excellent bistro, La Hoguette for our evening meal. Well worht a visit, the set menu is excellent value, expect large portion sizes. Good red house wine. It is a bit of a walk into the old town of St Malo but flat and taxis are available. The hotel is in a quiet area, ideal for a relaxing break.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no tea/coffee in room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel de Courtoisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Courtoisville

Address: 69 boulevard Hebert, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#16 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Courtoisville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de Courtoisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.