We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and nice pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Courtoisville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de Courtoisville to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de Courtoisville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 boulevard Hebert, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and nice pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Location very convenient for the beach. Parking was a bit tricky as you need to drive through a narrow alley and since the hotel parking was quite small, you might need to park on the street when it becomes full.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with a small balcony overlooking the main entrance/car park. The room was only basic; the double bed was not in its top condition but cozy enough for us. We booked this hotel mainly because of its restaurant which didn't disappoint. Although a bit pricey its terrine de foie gras, pan seared foie gras, fresh Cancale oysters, roasted duck magret and entrecote steak were all impressively cooked and presented. Breakfast was continental style and not cheap as well. The indoor pool was nice - I swam early in the morning and there was nobody there. A very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
72
129
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, located 20m from the very elegant esplanade du Sillon.
We had a delightful stay in this house suberbe and perzonalized of Saint Malo
the owners are very warm people, the atmosphere of the hotel is cozy with torches and decorative touches refined
Imoubliable plate of fresh and delicious seafood.
Great Spa and Pool
We will return for sure with great pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear gcbond,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comment about the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Only stayed for one night waiting for the ferry back to UK, Was greeted unlike any hotel I have stayed in with a guided tour, This place is full of contrasts its an old building with new add ons, old fittings, tired décor in places but everything was right, one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in, There is use of a computer in the conservatory also where you can play extra large chess, Boules outside with an array of quirky sculptors.
Nice size swimming pool 32 degrees, relaxation chair with massage and my bed was electric a bit of a surprise, I'm sure that had I stayed longer I would have found more,
The food was excellent but a bit pricey 14 euros for breakfast,
definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Peter O,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to share your experience at theGrand Hotel de Courtoisville.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our service as well as the comfort of our rooms.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again,
Sincerely,
Farzad abadie, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

As in earlier posts, we stayed at the hotel on an extension with our Grand Central Seine River Cruise. It is a first class ooperation with rooms and common areas immaculately clean. Breakfast was excellent. Location is a thiirty minute walk from the old town center. If we ever return to Brittany, we would definitely stay tthere again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Rusty1cub,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share these words further to your stay in Saint-Malo with us.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.
Kind regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed there last week at the end of a Grand Circle Cruise Line tour on the Seine from Paris to Honfleur. The hotel makes a lovely first impression with gardens and flowers/plants in the lobby. However, some things are strange. I had a room on the ground floor with windows opening onto a courtyard. The bed was what we used to call a "hollywood bed," two single beds pushed together and one large headboard. Comfortable enough. There was a closet with a rod and hangers, shelves to hold other clothes and a safe. There was also a desk and chair and an arm chair. But the bathroom arrangement was weird. The main bathroom had a tub with hand shower, a sink, and a bidet. Heated towel rods. But the WC was in a small room just inside the door from the corridor, and that had one light on a timer. After 4 minutes, it went off! On the wall, as I entered from the corridor were two switches, one of which turned on the light in the WC. I never found out what the other one was for. And that was repeated all over the room - strips of buttons to control something, but I could only find the ones for a few lights and to raise and lower the window blinds.
Because I had fallen and couldn't get around very well, I opted to have all my dinners at the hotel. And they were very good, especially the seafood. Oysters from Cancale, mussels, scallops, sea bass, sole. Everything was fresh and well prepared.
The breakfast buffet was very good. A previous reviewer has stated that you had to cook your own breakfast, but that's an exaggeration. There's a little pan of almost boiling water that you can lower an egg into and timers to get the degree of hardness you want. There's also a table on the side that has scrambled eggs and bacon kept warm. And the coffee was just as I like it - hot and strong.
The staff was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear XenonNewton,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularily enjoyed our quality of service.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,
Farzad Abadie, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel on a Grand Circle trip. The hotel is located in a lovely garden just a block from the beach and promenade into the old town of Saint-Malo. The location is ideal as it is very picturesque and quiet. The lobby of this hotel is very pretty and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and cheerful. My only complaint would be the bathtub. We are used to traveling in Europe and are familiar with the hand held showers there. However there is usually a pole on the wall where you can hang the shower head. Since our bathroom had a sloped ceiling there was no pole. In order to take a shower you either had to sit in the tub or kneel while you held the shower head in order not to spray the entire bathroom! After three nights we became quite expert at this and now appreciate the luxury of being able to stand in a shower. That is my only complaint and I think it was probably only typical of our room as none of our traveling buddies had this problem. All in all I would not hesitate to return to this hotel. The buffet breakfast was delicious, however our dinner there on the last night was just ok. Would recommend La Taverne du Commerce for dinner. We and our eight companions had a very good dinner here one night. Also if you stay at this hotel there is a nice heated indoor pool.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear rockport4,

We are so glad to read you enjoyed your experience at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.

We truly thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

Hopefully we will get the chance to have you stay with us again,

Best regards,

Farzad Abadie, director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel for three days in May. In style the hotel is very typical of many French provincial hotels. The location, one block from fhe beach and a short walk to town, was most convenient and the staff was exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Our room was simply furnished and pleasant. The food and service in the dining room were very good and a decent buffet breakfat was served in an adjacent room in the morning.
The hotel has a good-sized indoor swimming pool, which is unusual for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZADFAR, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Strathcool

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience at the Grand Hotel de Courtoisville.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our central location and the comfort of our rooms.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely,
Farzad Abadie, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de Courtoisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Courtoisville

Address: 69 boulevard Hebert, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#10 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de Courtoisville 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de Courtoisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Courtoisville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.