We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwilling to pay for damage caused by their staff!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir du Cunningham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Manoir du Cunningham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir du Cunningham Hotel
9 place Monseigneur Duchesne, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 hotels in Saint-Malo
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unwilling to pay for damage caused by their staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel itself is good. It's location is ideal for visiting St Malo and we enjoyed our stay for 2 nights before taking a ferry home from a camping trip.
The problem I had (and have been trying to resolve since August 2011 - it is now December) is that during our stay our trailer tent was moved to another area of the car park by the hotel staff. After the getting over the shock of spotting that it was not where we left it, we were ok with the idea. However, on the morning of departure we noticed that during the move, the trailer lights had been smashed by a probable collision with the hotel wall.
Having just paid the accommodation bill, we pointed this out to the owner who was very apologetic and offered to refund the cost of fixing it when we had it repaired back in England. We then had to leave for the ferry and drive 280 miles in England with the risk of driving with an illegal trailer.
The repair was not too expensive and I emailed over a copy of the bill within 2 weeks of returning home.
Now after numerous emails and lots of empty promises from the owners I have not been refunded the repair bill. The excuses were made that it was their night porter who did it and they has asked him to post me the money. At no time did they offer to pay me and take the money from the porter.
I have waited 4 months now and received nothing. I have held back from posting this review to give them time to refund me.
It is obvious that they will not pay me now so I have no option but to recommend that the users of this site to not use this hotel! The owners are dishonest and are unwilling to refund me a sum of cash that totalled less than one quarter of the money I paid them.
Any hotel with that sort of customer service does not deserve to be in business and I hope that they feel happy to saved themselves a few Euros. With a bit of luck, people will not use this hotel and cost them a lot more in the long term!
I am not normally the type of reviewer to moan unnecessarily about an establishment, or use the site as a vehicle to make someone's minor failures into a big issue (see my other reviews), but in this case I feel that I have no option left but to allow other potential customers of this hotel to know the type of hotelier they will be dealing with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Manoir du Cunningham Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Mr. Mxxxxxy, it was expected since the day of your departure to arrange with the person concerned to recover the amount for damage to your vehicle, especially as our former employee Mr. De La Mxxxx had agreed to pay (as it is written in our establishment we are not liable for damages and it is valid whatever the circumstances, knowing that you had to make a finding with people). As I have said and written, staff should not drive if it is a personal responsibility (rules). However, two months later you send me an email informing me that nothing is done and you threaten me to write everything and anything on the internet if I did not pay! Two months later ... let's be serious the employee is gone, you have nothing settled between you and I find myself at risk for something that does not concern me! That being written, I am shocked by your behavior because you have the contact of the responsible person (email and personal phone) and the means necessary to recover the amount of your vehicle repairs. If you had not threatened me we would have made a commercial gesture or reimbursed the damage but your behavior is unhealthy in terms of efforts we have made ​​to bring you the solutions. We wish you happy holidays 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwicks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Reception friendly but room had outside steps which became slippy in wet weather. Too expensive at 150 euros, plus 2 euros taxe, plus 8 euros each breakfast plus 6 euros parking! Huge bed, curtains too small, didn't meet in middle, mini bar locked.Very nice balcony with good views, good walk in shower. Overall OK, simply overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stayed just for one night prior to catching the morning ferry. Lovely suite of two rooms with balcony overlooking port and old town. Pleasant walk to old town. Not impressed with the restaurant overlooking the sea the hotel suggested although we were told we were the first family to ever be disappointed in it. Very pleasant concierge, Easy car parking and very short and easy trip to ferry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I stayed here with my niece and nephew for one night, having driven across all of France to deliver them back to their mother when the volcanic cloud stopped all flights... so couldn't really call this a leisure trip! We were warmly greeted, and liked the location for the proximity of the port.
The children were pretty cold that night, I don't think they found the heating controls in their room, but otherwise things were fine. Everyone appreciated the English TV channels and breakfast was excellent. We really missed having a restaurant on the premises, something I thought was a given with three stars, especially as so many places in the town were closed on a Monday. Would recommend the cafe down on the beach for good home cooking and a friendly welcome.
Parking plentiful, safe and free of charge in the town (EUR 6 if you want to park in the small car park in front of the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Everything about Manoir du Cunningham was pleasing. The staff are professional and show a sincere concern for the comfort and joy of their guests visit to St. Malo. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The only drawback we found was the lack of sufficient broadband to navigate websites. We are rather glad however we did not know that as we really enjoyed staying at Manoir du Cunningham and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Have just stayed another night at the "Manoir"... its a fabulous looking building with safe parking and reasonably near the harbour.
The rooms are exceptionally big , with huge beds and lovely walk in showers.
The views from the first floor balcony takes in most of St Malo.. terriffic.
The "sister" hotel and bar is just nearby for a lovely evening drink !
I would like to recommend also , the superb Vietmanese restaurant , 50mtrs up the road .. well worth a visit

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir du Cunningham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Cunningham Hotel

Address: 9 place Monseigneur Duchesne, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir du Cunningham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir du Cunningham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.