We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Univers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Univers to your Saves list
Hotel l'Univers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Place Chateaubriand, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A short break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to St Marlo with Brittany ferries for a short break, it started badly crashes on a38 we arrived late to board the ferry,but good old brittany ferries held the ferry until everyone arrived this was great customer service. We had a great cabin on board with complimentary soft drinks bowl of fruit and breakfast all included. We arrived fresh and ready for our break we arrived at hotel very early and check in was supposed to be at 3pm but our room was ready and they let us have it six hrs early the room was small but compact rather dark two days would be the most I would stay in that room but it served its purpose. I would say if you have any mobility problems don't have room 114 as you have to step into the shower over a foot in hight and getting out was a bit dodgy a step is needed. The breakfast was continental ok but I wish there was some bacon. The place itself was magical and worth a visit. The restaurants were great the food was tasty and good value. The bar was busy with a lot of smokers and the door to the hotel was left open and the smoke could be smelt all over

Room Tip: Not the one we had a room at the front are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    114
    39
    17
    10
See reviews for
35
110
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good little hotel in a perfect spot inside the walled city of Saint Malo. Only a walk away from the ferry terminal and train station. Buses are also just a minutes walk away. We only stayed for a couple of nights en-route from Guernsey to Paris. Wished we had stayed longer though as there is so much to see and do in Saint Malo. Hotel l'Univers provided a clean room with a great shower, unfortunately no air conditioning. Great atmosphere in Saint Malo, with plenty of restaurants, bars, cafe's shops and street entertainment in the area. The hotel has a lift, small but serves its purpose. The receptionists were very helpful as were the bar staff. Free internet which reached our rooms.

I have to say the croissants at breakfast were by far the best I had in France :).

I would be happy to stay at Hotel l'Univers again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great hotel, great town/area!

I'm just knocked out by BRETAGNE! My first call here was in 1972 (!), and I very much forgot about it. Many trips to Galicia, Ireland, Wales and Scotland made me fell in love with the Celtic nature and culture.

Short: This is a very convenient located hotel in the center of town. Clean, good breakfast, friendly, full of ambience, solid, quite simple, but ample with character and a certain style. Exactly my style. You will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty average. Ok Standard on the rooms, ok breakfast buffet and Service at the hotel varies from super sweet to lost in translation. The area around the hotel is however superb. French style cafés in open spaces, just at the entrance of the old city. It is a few minutes walk to the sea and the big conference centre. If you don't have to spend much time at the hotel room I would chose it for location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely quaint hotel very French staff friendly and helpful room and bathroom a good size.Good
continental breakfast would stay again.Ideal position in the centre of town convenient for shops
and restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights here on a weekend break to St Malo. Having stayed at several hotels in St Malo over the years, some being 4 star, this hotel more than matches them in quality. The only thing that could be done to improve things is to maybe include tea / coffee facilities in the room or to have them available. Very helpful and friendly staff and room clean and comfortable. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Univers

Address: 12 Place Chateaubriand, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Univers
l Univers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Univers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.