We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villefromoy

Save Saved
You added La Villefromoy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villefromoy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 boulevard Hebert | Plage de Rochebonne, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 80 hotels in Saint-Malo
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at La Villefromoy several times before and enjoyed every visit. Our most recent visit was no exception. From the warm welcome to the relaxing evenings in the quiet spacious lounge nothing was too much trouble for the staff. In particular Jean Paul who helped us with our cases to our room and served us drinks in the lounge whilst we enjoyed a quiet game of cards was always helpful. So was everyone without exception.

Our room was kept clean and tidy and it was a joy to come back to after a day out.

It was a lovely walk along the promenade to the St Malo ramparts, however we enjoyed Rochebonne itself as well as the nearby town of Parame.

Thank you for a wonderful relaxing break.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    60
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
190
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Room was very affordable, comfortable, the staff were very hospitable and the location SUPER!! If you are visiting St. Malo, please consider this hotel as it offers everything a cozy atmosphere at a wonderful price. MERCI La Villefromoy!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Fantastic hotel really close to the beach. Yes, it's a bit far to walk to the main centre of St Malo, but all the nice hotels are in this area ;-) And you're walking along the beach - you're in St Malo, that's the point! The customer service - front desk/check in, evening drink and breakfast was some of the best I've ever experienced (top 5* hotels included).
We even had our dog with us who, for a extra supplement, was made to feel very welcome.
We'd stay agin :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay here was first class from the genuinely warm welcome and offer to help with bags, to the assistance in finding alternate accommodation when we wanted to extend our stay but they were fully booked. The facilities were beautiful - piano in the reading room, a range of books for viewing, a cosy bar and free secure car parking. Our accommodation was roomy, comfortable and quiet. The building is very well maintained and tastefully decorated. While the breakfast room is small, its cosy and provides a delicious breakfast with little surprise extras with terrific service. This is a great place to stay for a couple.

Room Tip: Our room was great(3rd floor, at back on corner) but maybe those backed on to elevator might get som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We will definitely be returning here for a more leisurely stay. It is a great hotel, made the more so by the care and attention of the staff. The décor is lovely, rooms good, and its dog friendly too!. Beach is near for a dog walk, and we had a great meal at a local restaurant that was recommended and booked for us. Dinner isn't available is the hotel. It was exceptionally good value for money. We missed breakfast unfortunately as we had a ferry to catch - we will be back for it next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at La Villefromoy, despite knowing that it is very expensive (especially the breakfast). The staff, the decor, the comfort and ambience are all excellent. The hotel is well placed for a good walk along the beach for an evening meal at the excellent fish restaurant Brasserie du Sillon. The carpark is well managed with pre-allocated spaces for booked parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in the first half of September 2013. The hotel was charming, with a nice view of the ocean from our room, and the staff were helpful and pleasant, providing recommendations for local dining and nearby shops. It is well-located, only two blocks from the water and close to restaurants and shops; and about a one-half hour walk from the walled old city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villefromoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villefromoy

Address: 7 boulevard Hebert | Plage de Rochebonne, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#9 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villefromoy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet district of SAINT-MALO, at only 40 meters from the beach, the hotel La Villefromoy offers charm and character of an elegant private villa with bow windows overlooking the sea, with balconies.The perfect place to relax. You will enjoy the sea air in our cosy lounge, bar and terraces. A quiet place for your stay at SAINT-MALO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Villefromoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villefromoy Saint Malo
La Villefromoy Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villefromoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.