We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Hotel of our trip - excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Saint Malo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Saint Malo to your Saves list
B&B Saint Malo
Place de la decouverte | Avenue du Général de Gaulle, 35 400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best B&B Hotel of our trip - excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in 9 different B&B hotels throughout France and this one was the best of them all. I don't think all of these pictures are showing the hotel as it is today, as it was newly renovated and virtually spotless. Very helpful and friendly staff. Quick walk to a free shuttle which takes you to the entrance of the walled city. This was great as we were traveling with a car which would have been a hassle had we chosen a hotel right in town. Very nice city - we were disappointed that I hadn't scheduled more time here. I woudl not hesitate to recommend this B&B hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a really nice welcome from Maureen, St. Malo is friendly and homely.
Our room was just right and the fact that we had a fridge, microwave and a toaster was an extra bonus!
The choice for breakfast catered for all and what ever you had was very nice.
What I liked about the breakfast was-if there was some thing you did not like or could not eat (allergy) wise then that was doubled up with something else. Thank you Maureen for really looking after your visitors. X We Will Be Back!
Regards, Maggi and John-Newquay

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We booked one night here to save leaving the Vendee in the middle of the night to catch our ferry back to England.
Booking over the telephone was very easy and they said it would be okay for 5 of us to stay in their family room if we bought an air bed for our 3 year old.
The hotel was easy to find and we got a very warm welcome from the receptionist. Our room was on the top (3rd) floor but there was a lift. All rooms are accessed from external corridors giving it a tower block feel, but the rooms themselves are very nice. The door opens into a small room with a double bed, desk, hanging space, door to surprisingly roomy shower/toilet and a spiral staircase up to a large mezzanine with 2 single beds. This layout would not be ideal for younger children as the stairs were quite steep, but was fine for us.
Beds were very comfortable and the shower was nice and powerful.
The self service breakfast was far nicer than I' ve had in hotels costing 3 times as much - a choice of cereals, choice of breads, bacon, scrambled eggs, croissants - all freshly made, plus lots of drinks, yoghurts etc.
Despite being in a commercial area, the hotel is still only a 15 min drive from both the ferry port and Intra Muros so we are very likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Judging from the photos on Tripadvisor and the condition of the room we stayed in, this hotel has been renovated recently. The room was very clean and the possibility to reserve a non-smoking room online gives a huge competitive edge according to me. The check-in was ok, though the reception looked unmanned when we arrived. For our stay the parking was only half full, the parking spaces are dimensioned for tiny French cars which could cause issues for normal European models. Overall a good hotel but do not count on walking the three or so kilometers to the old city.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Newly renovated rooms, close to a shopping center if you need to buy something to eat but a bit far from the city center , unfortunately. Very clean With a lovely bathroom, and best of all even cheaper if you make your reservation in advance over the Internet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Stopped at this hotel because it was the first one that we saw that advertised free internet. The location is a bit sketchy as it is surrounded by big government-style apartments. The room itself was bare-bones, but clean. The bed linens were crappy. This hotel doesn't offer any belles and whistles but it is very cheap for the city (45EUR), has free parking and internet.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed here for one night whilst waiting for a ferry back to the UK. Firstly the map for the hotel makes it difficult to find, it is actually in the car park at the rear of the Intermarche which after a while of driving around we eventually stumbled across. We had booked a 3 person and a 2 person room and the initial impression was OK, although the 2 person room smelled strongly of smoke (which could be expected in France I suppose).

The 3 person room consisted of a double bed and a small single bed on a mezzanine connected by a steep staircase (almost a ladder) so would not be suitable for the very young or very old. As it was in our case we had to put a chair against the top of the stairs to stop our children accidentally falling down the stairs during the night.

The rooms were clean and tidy but quite small, but perfectly adequate for our one night stay. The breakfast was fine - bread, rolls, pastries, etc which were kept topped up.

Overall a perfectly adequate overnite motel, although don't take too much notice of thier map!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Saint Malo

Address: Place de la decouverte | Avenue du Général de Gaulle, 35 400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B hotels: comfort, style and well equipped quality interiors are the characteristics that make B&B hotels so special! And you can get all this for an extraordinary price. Come and find out about 200 hotels in France and Germany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Saint Malo
b&b Saint Malo Hotel Saint-Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Saint Malo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.