We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Eveil des Sens

L'Eveil des Sens
6,rue Sainte Barbe, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
0299409246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 313 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Price range: $22 - $65
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Maitre Restaurateur 2012 Referencements : Michelin 2013 et Gault Millau 2013 Partenariat SMARTBOX Coffret Tables et Saveurs et Reves a Deux
Kingston, ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Fabulous food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good idea to prebook. Restaurant had good selection and a choice of several set menus. Comfortable, modern space in central location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    47
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The place for great food in a tourist town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If food is important to you and you want something more than Moules frites or a crepe - then head here. Really tasty, beautifully prepared and presented. Went for lunch - two fixed menus (25 or 35 Euros) both have good fish on them. Staff were really good - atmosphere very friendly and if you dont usually go to "high end" restaurants dont worry you wont come out hungry. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb on all accounts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

L'eveil des sens

Truly refined, the three course lunch time menu was one of our best restaurant experiences this trip. Something delightfully creative appeared on each course, whether it was the creme de wasabi on the house-smoked salmon in the entree, or the crusty jacket of grilled hazelnuts on the john dory in the fish main. And the dessert was a wonder that surpassed all the preceding, raspberries with pink champagne jelly with other tantalising notes in there which I won't elaborate too far here. Then to finish off, a choice of three strengths of coffee - there's a restaurant where they understand people who are fussy about their coffee! The only detail that disappointed a little was the macaroon served with the coffee - after the subtlety of the dessert, it was way too sweet. My fault - I shouldn't have eaten it - should've guessed because it was the only thing not prepared in house. This however is a minor complaint in an otherwise faultless presentation. L'Eveil des sens means 'the awakening of the senses', and they really live up to their name.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Une belle expérience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked here at the last minute and were lucky because the place was fully booked and filled up very quickly. Cooking, creativity, service, price - so many reasons why people come to this restaurant. It is a most welcome addition to places to eat in the Intra Muros. This is a quality restaurant and this shows in the presentation of all the dishes and the excellence of the flavours created by the Chef, Yannick Lalande. It is not a cheap place to eat – Saint Malo has plenty of those if that is what you want. This restaurant is nevertheless good value for money if you value quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tastes Awakened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

St Malo is named after the Welsh monk Mac Low. Its history is one of seafaring and trade. One of its illustrious citizens was François-René de Chateaubriand (1768 – 1848), a politician and historian renowned for giving his name to a style of cooking beef. We stayed in the hotel also named after him, and our very comfortable room had a fine view over the ramparts of the “Intra Muros” (Inner Walls) and to the sea beyond. It is to be recommended for its location, its garage parking and also its rooftop restaurant, “5”, but more of that another day.

We were in town tonight to visit what we thought was to be a restaurant known simply as “Delaunay”. We had booking with that assumption, but on arrival we found it to be L’Eveil des Sens, which replaced the former a short time ago. The menu looked extremely varied and promising, so we entered. We were not to be disappointed.

The restaurant is decorated in a modern style, combining elegant comfort with good looks. Its name translates as “Tastes Awakened” and the décor does that as soon as you enter. Perhaps its wall of coloured lights alternating every spectral shade might lead in some circumstances to a dulling of the senses, but not here. It is all part and parcel of a fine effect.

The chef is Yannick Lalande, a Maître Restaurateur with a fine CV . It seems he opened his dream establishment towards the end of last year, for what he calls “the start of a beautiful adventure”. We were delighted that he chose to begin it here.

After aperitifs and delectable amuse bouches, we chose not to opt for any of the reasonably priced set menus, all of which seemed to be inspired in their innovation. Cherry was served a chaud-froid de rouget barbet, concombre, radis, asperges et quartiers de tomates assaissonées à la poudre Serneissima, vinaigre de Barolo et huile de truffe, a visual spectacle and a marvel to the taste buds. We must present a picture:

I enjoyed a dish of pétales de cabillaud, lait de morue, légumes craquant du moment, sorbet betterave rouge et huile de basilic, every bit as good as its description implies.

As for our main courses, the clearly inspired cuisine rose to new heights. Cherry was thrilled by the pavé de bar, réduction d’échalotes au vin blanc, févettes et coeur d’artichauts, roquette et marjolaine, declaring it the best sea bass she had ever eaten, but the star of the show was undoubtedly my pigeonneau de chez Paul Renault, rôti en cocotte, mousseline de petit pois, morilles et carottes pyramide, sucs de cuisson reduits, charmingly translated in the menu as “Paul Renault’s farm squab”. Now I have for many years kept a Top Fifty of pigeon dishes, to which that served in the Couleurs, Saveurs in Bricqueville, Normandy, was very recently added at number 5, only to be pushed down the list within a few days by this wonder of the chef’s art, entering the chart in position 4.

As we dined, we attentively watched other dishes being served, and all demonstrated the chef’s obvious alacrity. His skills know no bounds, although his translation skills need honing. For instance “Côte de porcelet” is described as “Piglet bones”, and I should mention that my “Pétales de cabillaud” became “Cod petals”. He now has a copy of our Bon Appetit and will be downloading our Gourmet Guides application, so these minor failings should soon be remedied.

The wine list is of a good length and the prices are extremely reasonable; some true bargains interspersed with more costly stars.

Desserts were no less beautifully served. We chose from the menu page headed “Les Irresistibles”, and the word admirably describes the dishes we were served: tarte fine aux pommes and giboulet de griottes.

The restaurant has limited capacity, with covers for around twenty diners, so booking is essential, but you may rest assured that you will dine exceedingly well. What more can be said, you absolutely must try it for yourself. Your senses will certainly be awakened.

Score 18 /20

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Eveil des Sens also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to L'Eveil des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Eveil des Sens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.