We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hostel- two years in a row!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CRI Patrick Varangot

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added CRI Patrick Varangot to your Saves list
CRI Patrick Varangot
37 ave du RP Umbricht | BP 108, 35407 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Senlis, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Quality hostel- two years in a row!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed twice in this hostel for a week each time. I have a limited experience with hostels but this one is truly top-rate. Our room was functional as to be expected, but with a lot of space to move about. The toilet separated from the bathroom was ideal for us, the room was clean, and the food was varied and of good quality. We had picnic lunches prepared by the hostel and the sandwiches were different every day and always accompanied by fruit and cheese. The staff was always helpful and friendly.. The hostel is only five minutes' walk from the beach, and five minutes by car from St Malo's remparts. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the newest rooms - Surcouf building. Also, bring a small bathmat for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for two nights, and thought it was fantastic. The rooms were basic but clean - I was in a three bed room and the fact that bathroom and shower were in the room instead of on the hall was fantastic. The breakfast is fine and the location is good - a short direct walk to the beach. It's a little ways out of the city, but an easily walkable distance. I enjoyed walking along the seaside to the walled city. The staff were very friendly, although I was glad I speak French. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My first contact with the hostel was rather disappointing - I sent them an e-mail in English informing on my late arrival and received an answer in French. I spent two nights there and I met only one English-speaking receptionist. The hostel is located 20 minutes by foot from the railway station and is rather easy to miss from the street. Apart from the booking fee you have to have youth hostel card to stay there for the night (approx. 10 EUR, available at the hostel). Rooms are OK, breakfast is also good. There is free wi-fi and one hotspot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were here in 2010 nearing the end of our trek to the Channel Islands from New Zealand, and this was possibly the best hostel we stayed at, with the possible exception of the Syndey Rocks YHA.
It's a wee way out of town, but it is very quiet, has great self catering facilities and has lovely, helpful staff.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The room was not very clean, and the bathroom in particular needed attention. Reserving a room was difficult and not very efficient. The side with the parking lot closes early which can be a problem given that it is located far from the city centre. France has much better hostels than this.

Some buildings look more recently renovated than others, so perhaps a better experience is possible, and therefore a better value than our experience.

Breakfast was OK, but nothing stunning.

Room Tip: Ask if there are newly renovated ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Centre Patrick Varangot last weekend. What we liked:
(a) the (private) room given to us was spotlessly clean, and was much more spacious than, say, a room at an Ibis.
(b) we paid 41 Euros a night for the room. That's a steal !
(c) the staff were very friendly and all of them (at the reception) spoke fluent English.
(d) the beach is a few minutes away from the hostel.
(e) The intramuros (walled city) is about 20 minutes away on foot.
(f) There is a Carrefour, a tabac and a great bakery within 5 minutes walking distance
(g) There is a lot of open space inside the centre, unlike some of the "compact" and box like hotels nearby
On the flip side,
(a) the official breakfast time ends at 9:15 am, but sometimes, the bread/coffee runs out by that time (specially if they had a large group check in the eve before)
(b) some of the rooms , like ours, overlook a (moderately) busy street, so if you are light sleeper, you may be woken up by the noise of the traffic before you intend to.

Overall, I would say I had a very pleasant stay. Would not mind staying here again if I ever visit St Malo again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CRI Patrick Varangot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CRI Patrick Varangot

Address: 37 ave du RP Umbricht | BP 108, 35407 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your CRI Patrick Varangot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CRI Patrick Varangot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.