We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You, lovely ladies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Palais to your Saves list
Hotel du Palais
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue Toullier, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank You, lovely ladies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was fantastic to stay in this hotel 26-29th August. Thank You for Your kindliness and good adwises. Only negative experience was, that in Saint Malo is impossible to have taxi. Saint Malo eas great like our medieval Tallinn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
25
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Small, clean room in excellent location. Good WiFi connection everwhere. Prices are ok. Don't even think to park tour Carl nearby in August, but you van park in front of the hotel entrance to load/unload luggages. It deserves to be tried.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with a great location in a charming little city! Nice clean rooms with a super friendly staff. A little complicated to get there if you are driving but so would any other hotel in the intra mur.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are a family of 7. Two adults & 5 beautiful children. We do make this trip a few times a year as a day excursion from Jersey. We had as usual a wonderful day, the people are welcoming & we really had good fun! Our vile experience with this hotel was when the near by children's park toilets did not work!!! We paid twice but still the toilet doors would not open. As my little girl who is 7 really desperately needed the toilet as any mother would do I looked at the nearest place to take her. This was this hotel. Two ladies were on reception, spoke English to begin with until I told them my problem, the First Lady in her 40's the second in late 60's both blank refused to let my little girl use the toilet. This WOULD not happen in Jersey/Guernsey or the U.K. I even offered to pay to use their public bar toilet! I was so disgusted by their in humanity to a little girl. Vile vile vile what more can I say! No wonder the hotel was so empty,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

we arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive only to find that the front door was locked at 1700hrs and nobody around.Helped by a guest to a rear door and waited in the lobby for sometime. BAD service.Shower hand held?Breakfast poor value for money.In all a RIP OFF. we will not return

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has been my place of stay every August on my visits to St.Malo. Over the years I have seen many changes, both in ownership and design. Some things, however, have remained unchanged. The arrangements for breakfast and the closing of reception seem part of the hotel ritual. Guests are left to their own devices after dark! Forget your pass numbers for the back door and you could be locked out for the night. And don't request water or something stronger at night as no-one is incharge once the night shutter have dropped. All in all it is a charming little place, a true home away from home and always a delight to return every August.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great location. Very easy to walk around the old town.
No one at reception when we tried to check in. Had to call hotel (while standing in foyer) to get someone to come to front desk.
Lift didnt go all the way to top floor (where our room was). Hair dryer didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Address: 8 rue Toullier, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Palais 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant and welcoming hotel situated right in the heart of the corsair city(estate), quite close to the city center and the businesses. Direct access beach.17 Rooms which most renovated quite recently, among which some proposing a crib in mezzanine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Palais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.