We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice room, clean, very good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel France et Chateaubriand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel France et Chateaubriand to your Saves list
Hotel France et Chateaubriand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, place Chateaubriand - BP 77, 35412 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Turvey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice room, clean, very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived on a Sat night in Feb at 6pm and were offered a nice room overlooking the sea at a reasonable rate. The room must have been refurbished quite recently as the decor was modern and everything looked pretty new. The bathroom was lovely and the beds new, with quality bedding. There were spare blankets and pillows, but we did not need them as the room was warm enough. In fact, we turned it right down. Our room overlooked the ramparts with the sea beyond. We paid for breakfast in the morning, only because it was raining so heavily that there was little else to do. We were glad we did, as it was lovely, served in a beautiful room. We went to look at the restaurant and wished we had thought of having dinner there, as it has a panoramic view over St Malo and looked really pleasant. Next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    117
    50
    23
    13
See reviews for
39
146
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jugon-les-Lacs, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

When I come to St Malo for an evening out, I almost always take the time to have a coffee or beer facing the main square from the restaurant. Though the rooms are not top end, I love the feel of the old place and the staff clearly take care of the institution. A great place to go to hang out on a lazy Sunday evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Located in the walled, old town, this hotel is perfectly placed for visiting St Malo "intra muros". It is also located in a very lovely old building.

We have been staying here regularly for some years and were not disappointed on our last visit in November. The owners are gradually upgrading the rooms and the rooms in the renovated part are lovely - modern, tasteful bathrooms and nicely decorated bedrooms. If you can afford it, the seaview rooms are definitely the best. There is still a section which has not been renovated and the rooms are much cheaper in that bit - in those the furnishings are very dated. For those with children, there are quite a few rooms that are big enough for two adults and two children.

Breakfast is in a big dining room and can get very full so best to come down as early as you can and not 20 minutes before the end of breakfast! That said, there are so many tables that you don't usually have to wait long for one to become free. The breakfast buffet is good - very tasty croissants and lots of fresh bread, both of which are replenished regularly. Then there are boiled egges, cheses, meats, yoghurts, fruit ... the usual continental buffet breakfast fare!

If you are coming by car then parking in the old town is difficult though you can drive in fairly easily to drop off your luggage. The hotel has a few parking spaces a few streets away at its sister hotel which are very convenient and, otherwise, there are big carparks just outside the city walls for which the hotel can sell you a parking card (cheaper than if you pay yourself) and which are almost as convenient.

Finally, the hotel has, as part of its renovations, built a new restaurant called Le 5 on its roof (not visible from the street) which we tried and which (whilst not cheap) was very good and a lovely place for a special dinner (with nice views). We think the main restaurant on the ground floor is rather average but at Le 5 the food (and service) was definitely of very high quality.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are the best if in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I found myself at the Chateaubrian two nights ago as I had travelled up early from my French house so as not have to drive too far in the snow that was forecast. I've stayed in the Chateaubriand on several occasions and always loved it so it was obviously my first choice! Big mistake.......didn't have too much trouble parking as it is the middle of January and I did, admittedly, pick the cheapest room as it was only for one night. The room, overlooking the carpark, was dull and drab with very tired furniture and fittings and quite possibly the thinnest mattress that I've ever had the misfortune to sleep on. But that's ok because sleep was nigh on impossible because it was soooo cold, I had to put warm towels from the bathroom (the only warm place) between the sheets of the bed in order to make it tolerable but even then I 'slept' in my clothes and with my overcoat on the bed! Morning could not come soon enough! If only there had been a spare blanket in the cavernous wardrobe. And what is it with French hotels and their lack of tea and coffee-making facilities? I would have killed for a hot cup of coffee during the night, if only to wrap my frozen fingers around it....
Breakfast was ok, lovely croissants, but stewed coffee and no-one around to ask if I could have a fresh pot.
I did complain to Reception about the cold when I checked out but tbh the girl didn't seem particularly interested so I simply refused to pay for the breakfast, she didn't argue so that was that.......
I won't be back in a hurry but what do they care?

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A nice hotel inside the walls of Saint Malo, very central and near the beach.
It is a good starting point to visit Mont Saint Michel and Saint Malo.
the hotel looks impressive from the outside, very nice in the lobby and the breakfast room but a little oldish in the rooms. The furnitures are very old, including the bed, pillows and blanket.
The bathroom on the other side is quite well equipped with new instalations.
The breakfast is very good and you have a lot of food choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

located in the walls of ancient Saint Malo, with nice seaview (over the wall) this hotel has renovated and up to standard rooms (most of them). Charming old French style in the reception brasserie and breakfast room. Garage located near to hotel, food is very good, while the 5 restaurant with 360 degree view is less attractive due to a very limited menu. Breakfast is good (remember we are in France) and staff has good attitude and is very helpful.

Room Tip: insist on the renovated rooms, especially don't take room 203 which they will offer you as clien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this lovely old world hotel originally as a base to visit Mont St Michel. What a lovely surprise. We had a room overlooking the entrance courtyard to the hotel, in the side street off the main square. The room was light filled, spacious and charming. The breakfast room was also very charming and the breakfast was good as well. St Malo was also a wonderful place to visit and we were really glad that we chose to stay here. There is also a direct bus to Mont St Michel from the bus station outside the city walls (except Sundays and Mondays), so very easy to visit from here. St Malo is a fantastic destination in itself and the hotel was well placed to enable us to explore so much of the city and explore the lovely laneways of this beautifully restored old city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel France et Chateaubriand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel France et Chateaubriand

Address: 12, place Chateaubriand - BP 77, 35412 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel France et Chateaubriand 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel sits in 1680 landmark; Napoleon III architecture; plaster ceiling reliefs; cove moldings & period reproduction furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel France et Chateaubriand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
France Et Chateaubriand Hotel
France Et Chateaubriand Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel France et Chateaubriand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.