We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Angelus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maison Angelus to your Saves list
Maison Angelus
82 Avenue Pasteur, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Saint-Malo B&B and Inns
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to Angelus when we were visiting Brittany, very nice location , and very nice welcome. The house is well decorated, clean and original. Christina and Giulio were very helpful, they indicate us where we should go and what to visit . We highly recommend this "Auberge" and we would love to visit it another time

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Christina welcomed us in a friendly way, but unfortunately we didn't see her again and were left to the unsmiling Guiglio. Everything was too much trouble. We needed breakfast by 7.45, as we had a ferry to catch. He told us it was at 9 in a take it or leave it way. We finally persuaded him to make it earlier, but were told there would be no bread as the boulangerie wouldn't be open! Do they not have freezers in France? Monday morning arrived and we were shown down some very steep stairs to the worst breakfast we have ever had. There was fruit juice, but cold dry toast, stale cake and little else. I would have liked some fruit and spotted some bananas at the very far end of the table, obviously not intended for us. I had to ask. He could see quite clearly that I was eating nothing, but made no effort to talk to myself or my husband, despite our efforts to engage him in conversation. He showed no interest in us whatsoever and made it very obvious that we were a major inconvenience. We felt extremely uncomfortable. It could not have been a language barrier, either, as we are both fluent French speakers and he speaks it reasonably . We could not wait to leave. I cannot understand how everyone else seems to have had such a marvellous experience when this is our worst ever. Moreover, the room was only average and more expensive than the other far more spacious and luxurious rooms in hotels we had stayed in during this holiday. We were both naturally very upset and it was a bad way to end a holiday. Christina needs to take a more active role. We may then have been writing something akin to what everyone else has written.

Room Tip: Avoid an attic room. Our's was up very steep slippery wooden stairs with a timer light which kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricots, Owner at Maison Angelus, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I read your review and I do not intend to comment it in any way since you are the only one who found our house and our welcoming "horrible".
I only wonder wether all the other guests, who stayed with us and left earlier than you in the morning, were wrong in writing their reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We loved it here. It was our last night before going home on the ferry. Giulio took us to catch our ferry which we really appreciated. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very peaceful. Nothing was too much trouble. Christina's English is excellent which allowed us to relax and forget our French for a while.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Maison Angelus is a three room B&B with wonderful hosts. From the moment we stepped through the open front door (they had been waiting for us) Christina and Giulio were constantly interested in making our stay enjoyable. Both are also great chefs and they have put in a state of the art kitchen to support their cooking. The result is not only very enjoyable breakfasts but they are also very interested in putting on full Italian cuisine dinners for guests who are interested (they also do cooking classes in the off season).
They have obviously put a significant investment over the past few years, not only in the kitchen but in upgrading the rooms and putting in a terrace, which is a nice spot for an afternoon pause. The room we had was large and the bathroom with shower (actual walk in not a tub) was also quite big. I really appreciated the details like them installing non-slip ceramic tiling in the bathroom.
Over the years they have collected a large number of books, paintings, prints and even some of Giulio’s sculptures. So, it can take a while walking through the halls because there are so many items of interest that one cannot resist stopping and admiring at least some of them.
The location is on a main street one block away from the major spa/hotel of the region (so easy to locate on a map). The beach is easily accessible with a short 1 to 2 block walk. The walled historic part of St Malo is about a 10 – 15 minute walk straight along the street that Maison Angelus is on. If you are driving, they have parking for two or three cars in front of the B&B. As we were leaving Giulio was heading to the train station to pick up guests, so I guess that is another way to arrive.
We had limited time in Brittany and so really wanted to try the local dishes but one other couple who were staying there had one of their Italian cuisine dinners and said it was wonderful.
The only potential negative thing I can see for any guest would be the stairs. It is not well suited for someone who has difficulty with stairs. There are about a dozen up to the main floor and then the dining room is down one set of stairs from the main floor and the rooms are up one or two sets of stairs from the main floor. We had no problem but I would recommend leaving this wonderful B&B for guests who do not have challenged going up and down stairs.
Our thanks to Christina and Giulio for the wonderful job they have done setting up this gem of a B&B and their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: The advantage of Room #1 is that it is up one flight of stairs not two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were lucky to get a last minute room with Cristina and Giulio. They were so welcoming when we arrived and provided us a list of places to eat. Unfortunately the nearby places stop taking people for dinner by 9pm, so we walked to the walled city for dinner both nights we were there (about a 20 min walk). It's an easy cab ride back late at night. The B&B is very close to a grocery store and only a block away from Les Thermes Marins. We only had the breakfast but this was very good with a beautiful view of the well groomed backyard!!

We had a top room and it was super quiet and cozy!!! Perfect for sleeping in. A big plus that you have access to wi-fi internet :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. The owners made us feel like family and the quality of food at both dinner and breakfast was superb. It's in a great location 2mins from the beach and a 10min walk into the old town. Staying here made our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Any B & B is as good as the host/hostess. In the case of Maison Angelus, you have a great duo looking out for your comfort. Breakfast was more than adequate and a wonderful way to start the day. Christina and Giulio are perfect hosts. The room was comfortable.....not luxurious.....good value and very clean. Dinner was good and a very pleasant experience. Great location in a beautiful part of France. Don't miss the walk along the Ocean to the Old Town.

Room Tip: We like our lower floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Angelus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Angelus

Address: 82 Avenue Pasteur, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy stone villa of 1800 at the back of the Termes Marines, very near to the seaside. Our 3 wide and bright rooms furnished in italian style are very quite and offer you a warm and soothing atmosphere.Cristina will coddle you with savoury breakfast based on homemade cakes, biscuits, marmelades and she will be pleased to have you for dinner. You can taste the delicious products of the area revisited by italian creativity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Angelus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Angelus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.