We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like an IBIS than a Mercure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure St Malo Front de Mer

Save Saved
You added Mercure St Malo Front de Mer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure St Malo Front de Mer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, rue Chausse du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 80 hotels in Saint-Malo
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    210
    77
    9
    6
See reviews for
63
219
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

People were very nice but room a bit small... sea view awesome.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our last night of a touring holiday (arranged through Brittany Ferries). This hotel was clean and comfortable and in a lovely location on the sea front. A little lacking in character, no restaurant for evening meals but a good breakfast in a room overlooking the sea. We could see the sea from our room (just about if we craned our necks and hung out the window!!). Our room was comfortable and unusually for French hotels provided tea and coffee making facilities. I have never spent much time in St. Malo before now as usually just getting off the ferry en route to somewhere else, but it is certainly well worth a visit to the old town which has some super restaurants (beware the prices though - it pays to shop around) and some very nice shopping. Only a very short walk from the hotel and the beach is fabulous and just a step over the road.

Room Tip: I am not sure that there are many rooms at the front of the hotel but that is where the sea views co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is right on the sea front. Its comfortable and clean and the service was good. English was spoken for those that need it. I didnt get a sea view and I think that the majority of rooms are on the back or side of the hotel. A few will have a good sea view.

The breakfast was much better than many 'continental' ones that I have had. Lots of choice of cheese and meats as well as bacon, sausage and scambled egg for those that want something warm. Typically french in its cooking style i.e. the sausage was the hot dog type and both it and the bacon slices were 'broiled'.

All the usual breads and croissants with butter , jam etc. Yogurt, cereals and juices.

Just a 10 - 15 min stroll to the 'Old Town'.

Ample street parking, you may have to walk 50 - 100 yards or so. I was lucky and parked right outside the hotel. ........ but this was March ! May be different in Summer. There were few people staying whilst I was there.

Its a bit of a hike if you are walking to the Ferry Port but one couple were doing just that. They said it was a half hour walk.

Not cheap of course. What is in France these days. 98 Euros for a double room with another 25 Euros for 2 x breakfast. Rates go up in the summer. Reasonable value in France but a bit steeper than comparable English hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

It appeared that there were more staff than guests in the hotel, so service top class.

The only gripe we had, was the size of the room. We have stayed in many hotels within the Accor group and this was the smallest we have experienced. Otherwise, everything was very good or excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Had stop over there for the January weekend. Nice clean hotel and if you are lucky you can even enjoy the sea view. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
The 2 possible drawbacks are a)parking (hotel front can only accommodate 4 cars and and about 6 cars on the ocean front side.b) distance to the majority of restaurants is 5-6 blocks - there are tiny pizza place about 4 blocks off and small moroccan restaurant (very popular among locals) right next to it. there is no restaurant in/near the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the sea front side - it's beautiful and sound of waves is pretty soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just had a 2 night stay at this hotel and do not have a single bad thing to say about the place. The staff were very friendly and willing to help. They gave us a lot of help with places to visit and how to get around. The room was very clean and there was nothing more you could ask for at breakfast. Having a sea view (even though it was side on) was fantastic. The hotel is very close and well within walking distance to the town. We would reccommend this hotel and will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure St Malo Front de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Malo Front de Mer

Address: 36, rue Chausse du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#28 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Malo Front de Mer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Saint Malo Front de Mer overlooks the main beach, 5 minutes walk from the Corsair City and 20 min from the TGV train station and the port. Book one of our standard or sea view rooms. In winter St Malo offers peace and quiet, long walks or bicycle rides and spectacular tides. In summer music fills the streets with life and visitors can enjoy the beaches, water activities and golf. For your meetings, the hotel offers a small room for up to 10 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure St Malo Front de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure St Malo Front De Mer Hotel Saint-Malo
Mercure Saint Malo
Mercure Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure St Malo Front de Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.