We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a top shelf place, truly a 4 to 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo to your Saves list
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 boulevard Hebert | Grande Plage du Sillon, 35401 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Pittsburgh Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a top shelf place, truly a 4 to 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Beautiful room, large with a king size bed, large bath, closets and a separate WC. Balcony overlooking the ocean, but the swimming pools were the absolute best. They are all heated sea water and very soothing to any sore muscles. It is pricey here but you feel like you are a special guest. The food is fabulous.....breakfast very good, the dinners are 5 star. My husband is very fussy about hotels and we had wandered here 10 years ago. He was delighted we found it again...will stay here in the future. It is a nice walk to St Malo which we did twice but it is very tranquil.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    242
    67
    26
    12
See reviews for
123
372
103
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Other reviews have listed the facilities so I will not elaborate too much.
We stayed in the town view bedrooms, the cheapest available which was a, good size, very good mattress, nice balcony, all terrestial uk channels. The downside was that it was superheated by the midday sun and not having a/c stayed that way. Officially there is no internet connection in the bedrooms but we simplu used the internet feed to the tv and plugged it into the laptop which gave us unlimited free access.

Hotel is nicely decorated in a quirky 1980's style and waiters that still wear coat tails almost down to the ground.
All the food and drink is expensive and I was disappointed on ordering a gin and tonic to see no premium brand gin on the shelf.
Has no atmosphere in the evening and in the bar everyone whispers, ill be honest it was like being in geriatric city.
Didnt experience spa so no comments there however did walk the 2km into the walled town and was knocked out!! Its fantastic with lots of quality restaurants and upmarket classy shops.
St Malo itself is a great find and for sure we will return there. We would stay at the Thermes again but next time I would prefer to stay closer to the town center. The taxi back to the hotel was only 6 euro so its no big deal.
We paid 120 euro a night and considered it ok at that price but we did notice a Best Western very close by, The Alexander, which may be worth checking out as it looked ok.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Located on the beach and about a mile and a half from the walled town, it is in a good location with excellent facilities. The room was very nice, though there was a plastic cover under the bottom sheet which needed removing for comfort. The room furniture was new as was the decoration.
The check-in staff were helpful but did not really explain the dress code for the spa or gym, this could be a language thing. They have a small airconditioned gym but extensive spa. The pool is salt water and warm, but again there are rules which are not so well explained in terms of needing a swimming cap and speedo's! Breakfast and dinner were excellent.

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — A better guide to the hotel would have been useful
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My travel agent thought she'd never find us somewhere in Saint Malo - everywhere was booked solid, so with some misgivings ("It's not your kind of place") she booked us into here.

It's right on the sea front, and enormous. (Not my kind of place)

However, the room turned out to be a suite, more or less. Loads of space with its own internal corridor linking the big bathroom, big bedroom, wardrobe room and a curious separate WC.

There are two restaurants and we were automatically booked into one of them. I had a look beforehand and said I'd prefer the other one with a beach/sea view, which was gracefully handled by very busy staff. The view from our table in the second restaurant was stupendous with a storm lashing the sea outside, and the food was delicious.

Another night, I mentioned that it was my partner's birthday without expecting anything as a result. (Just making conversation with the waiter). Towards the end of the meal all the restaurant lights were dimmed and a cake with lighted candle was brought to the table while the smiling waiters sang Happy Birthday to you. Ahh.

Breakfast is excellent. I hardly ever remember hotel breakfasts - there have been so many - but I remember this one in a big light airy room with smiling waitresses and plenty of choices including many different pastries and cakes, which was a first. Some people at breakfast (warning!) appear in towelling robes from their spa treatments.

It's a bit of a way out from St Malo old town, but walkable. The nearby area is clean, safe and easy to navigate in the dark in a hired car. There are other restaurants (and shops) around the corner but the food at this hotel is far better, in our experience.

I'd go back there and would recommend it, despite it being "not my kind of place".

  • Liked — Great food and service. Terrific sea-facing restaurant. Large bedroom.
  • Disliked — I can't remember anything to complain about, TBH.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

The hotel rooms are quit old and not well cleaned, we stayed with a 3 month baby and under the babybed was never cleaned during the complete week.

The spa treatments are very nice, but everything is happening in a rush and this is not relaxing but more stressing to be in time for your next treatment. The spa is underground so no dayligth is comming true, this means if you take 4 treatmenst you are stocked in the basement of the hotel.

The food was exellent !!
The babyclub was excellent !!

Would not go back to this hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo

Address: 100 boulevard Hebert | Grande Plage du Sillon, 35401 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Malo
#7 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#13 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotels Saint Malo
Warwick Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.