We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Saint Malo Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Saint Malo Plage to your Saves list
Ibis Saint Malo Plage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Chaussee du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel is handily located on the sea front and a short walk from the walled city. Clean room, comfortable beds and great view. Parking is tight though it was free down a side street. Staff friendly and check in and out efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    246
    94
    18
    4
See reviews for
56
296
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have recently returned from a 3 day stay here. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the Brittany ferry terminal. There is also a bus stop about 100 metres away. It is inland, so you have to walk down towards the sea. Not easy to describe where the stop is, but I guess the driver would be able to tell you the stop for Ibis Plage. (Important as there was at least one other Ibis.) If I remember correctly, the bus was C2.
Our room faced a lovely sunny lawn and courtyard where we sat with a glass of wine and nibbles after exploring the area. It was delightful. The room itself was spotlessly clean and fairly large (Room 101. Next door 102 was slightly smaller.) The bathroom was modern with a very good shower. Shower gel and hand wash were provided.
Breakfast was really good- continental style with a large choice and quality ingredients.
The staff on reception were lovely and incredibly helpful. My only suggestion would be for the hotel to provide tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short (or indeed, a long) break. It is very well situated for all the sights of St Malo. We spent a day in Dinan. (No 10 bus near the information building on the same side as the town walls. It was beautiful. Well worth the 2 euro trip. Thank you to all at the Hotel Ibis Plage. I am hoping to return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cost more but have lovely French Windows. We were more than happy with our garden fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Not my best Ibis experience, receptionist with attitude.
Rang hotel to ask where car park is located as hotel is on main road and drove up and down 3 times with no where to stop, was told we had to book into the hotel before they will tell us car park location is. Drove around and found car park in road at rear of hotel . No one answered intercom so phoned hotel again and said we are outside can they open the car park doors, after listening to attitude they eventuall;y opend the car park and let us in.
Booked in anf the receptionist was not very welcoming or friendly and put us in a ground floor room.
This was a bad nights sleep as at 5am you hear doors banging and staff talking, this the main route through to the car park, so sleep between 5-7 kept getting woking up so gave up and got up.Breakfast usual Ibis quality - sparse choice for price.
I wouldn't stay here again but will still use Ibis hotels elsewhere

Room Tip: Don't get one on the ground floor as incrediblay noisy from 5am onwards with doors slamming, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just spent the one night here on a long weekend trip to St Malo. The hotel receptionist's were very helpful and very pleasant and the hotel itself was very clean and tidy. The room we stayed in was a rear facing one over looking a court yard, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a very nice shower, all in all great room for the price. Although not that much of a continental breakfast fan the breakfast had more than enough choice to keep me happy and leave well feed. Would use this hotel again if we return to St Malo.

Room Tip: Although the sea facing rooms have a great view there is a main road there also, were as the rear fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We had no reservation and were greeted by a really lovely receptionist. She had a small room free and gave us the keys to see it first to see if was big enough. It was perfect for a nights stay. Really comfy double bed, clean bathroom and right on the beach. Parking was an extra €10 but was in a secure carpark which was great when we had a car full of our possessions. We had a great stay and loved the beach. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisplage, Directeur général at Ibis Saint Malo Plage, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you had a nice stay in our hôtel. We would be glad to see you again.
Best regards
Claude Sevête - Directrice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Apart from the slightly smaller room than we've had before in ibis hotels everything about this hotel was good. It was especially brilliant to sit in bed and watch and hear the rough sea just over the road below. A10 minute walk to the old town and great restaurant almost opposite on the beach. Bus stops on road behind hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisplage, Directeur général at Ibis Saint Malo Plage, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are happy to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

We would be glad to see you again.

Best regards,

Claude SEVETE
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Saint Malo Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Saint Malo Plage

Address: 58 Chaussee du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Saint-Malo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Saint Malo Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Saint Malo is in the heart of Saint Malo, overlooking the beach, 10 min walk from the Corsair City and the ferry terminal, and 20 min walk from the train station TGV. Between the convention centre and the thalassotherapy centre, the hotel offers 60rooms, including two for guests with limited mobility, TV with TNT and WiFi free. Bar, snack service and pay parking for 10 vehicles (subject to availability). Front of the beach. 10 Km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Saint Malo Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Saint Malo
Ibis Hotel Saint Malo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Saint Malo Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.