We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cosi

Casa Cosi
43 Boulevard Douville, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
+33 2 99 19 03 83
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 315 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dominique invites Italy at your table. Family atmosphere, " you feel at home". Real simplicity, in a warm atmosphere. All the preparations are cooked in the morning with fresh products, chosen for their quality label, in the highest concern to satisfy his customers.
Milnrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very busy Italian Restaurant - just as they should be - cosy and informal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Delicious pizzas, fantastic service, welcome and ambience. Loved the mini selection of desserts, great aperitif and wine. I really great restaurant :-)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

After having passed in front of Casa Cosi many times, we decided to finally try it, a birthday present to myself. We were not disappointed. We were welcomed with a sincere smile, shown to our table, given just the right amount of time to browse what they had to offer, and served in an appropriate amount of time as well. There were plenty of choices, but it was not overwhelming so you didn't drown in options.
We started with the 'petite assiette' as we didn't want to spoil our appetite, and were more than pleasantly surprised by the freshness of all the products. Artichokes, grilled peppers, dried tomato, and freshly sliced italian hams. (Not to mention the aperitif I chose: le Cosi!) Then onto the main course: a delicious salad for me, again with fresh products and well seasoned to boot, a pizza for my husband--who is fussy when it comes to pizza crusts--and pasta for my daughter, who is 2. Everything was delicious, fresh, the right temperature and served in a timely fashion. The wine was a bonus--if you don't finish the bottle, you're free to ask for a cork and leave with it--though we didn't need that option!
Dessert followed and we opted for ice creams and 'cafe gourmand.' The ice creams are from an artisan ice cream maker and it was obvious from the first spoonful. Flavourful and rich. The various desserts served with the coffee were scrumptious and numerous, but not copious. Just what one needed to finish off a delicious meal. The staff were present, but not unpleasantly so, and were attentive without the hovering aspect. One of the owners came to the table at the end of our meal to ask how everything was and I found it to be a nice final touch.
There were several tables of 2 or 4 and as we were leaving, tables of 8 and 10 were being seated, all with the same attention and care.
I rarely write comments about places unless they're REALLY bad or really good and Casa Cosi for me is something to recommend without hesitation. Frankly, I can't wait to go back...maybe during the daytime this time to take advantage of the lovely garden tables!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A real italian breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

During our stay in France, we enjoyed a warm welcome (even without a reservation) in this new & modern pizzeria. After the antipasti, we tried the pizze Casa Fino & Casa Corsica, both excellent. The 'Corsica' (the name is not Italian, I know) consists of mozarella, pecorino, pancetta, fig delice and balsamico cream, an excellent mixture of tastes. Apparently they also have a backgarden but the weather was too bad to enjoy that. Allez les filles, keep the good work up! Unfortunately they do not appear in the google results of 'pizza Saint-Malo' but they should be getting there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eat here! It's just terrific.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Friendly Caro will charm you while Emilie prepares tasty dishes. We've visited Saint-Malo six times and never found a restaurant with such a pleasant ambiance and appealing menu. Sadly, most eateries in Saint-Malo treat their customers with the disdain normally afforded tourists. We had pizzas and a unique lasagne. The ice cream was satisfying (the lime was sublime!).

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Cosi also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Casa Cosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cosi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.