We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chapeau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint Placide

Le Saint Placide
6 Place Poncel, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
0299817073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 313 Restaurants in Saint-Malo
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,313 helpful votes 1,313 helpful votes
“chapeau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good service for good food. Creative and innovative, while being perfectly presented and cooked. I would say innovation that makes sense... and for what you get, it is definitely reasonably priced. don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    44
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

I just went there with my wife and we love it. The greatest diner of our lives!! Thank you Chef!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly excellent food - staff a bit stressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Food is truly excellent, tasty, very fresh and well presented.
Nice wine list although the selection of half-bottles was a bit limited.
This is a fine gastronomic experience at prices that are not unreasonable given the quality of what you eat.
Staff felt a bit hurried at times (busy night) + very contemporary decor is probably a tiny bit over the top.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant serving inventive and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We came here for the weekday lunch menu which, at 23 Euros, is superb value. We had an oyster and a courgette puree as an amuse, mackerel with bulgar wheat as an entree, duckling for the main course and a pineapple and sorbet dessert. It was inventive, fresh and very tasty. And we had three sorts of freshly-baked bread! The restaurant is extremely, and often amusingly, stylish - the loos are definitely worth a visit! We thought this was an excellent restaurant and would recommend it highly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Malo, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in Brittany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Le Saint Placide is one of the most outstanding restaurants in Saint Malo (Britanny, France). The food is inventive, excellent and very very well prepared. Specializes in seafood (excellent lobsters). Not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Saint Placide also viewed

Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le Saint Placide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint Placide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.