We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little quirky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antheus Saint Malo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antheus Saint Malo to your Saves list
Antheus Saint Malo
2 Place du Prieure, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great little quirky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Our two families stayed here for one night in order to catch the next morning ferry back to England. We had three rooms, and loved it. All the rooms are interestingly and individually decorated in a quirky but charming way. One was a bit small, the two-double-bedded suite was large with a huge bathroom, and one was fine. The mattresses were excellent and the rooms were clean and a bit funky. We would stay here again definitely.

We loved the location, which was in a quiet wealthy area, with fantastic food shops (open at 8.00am on a Sunday as well, if you need to stock up for the ferry), and a nice creperie. It's in the Parame district (which you need to know if you come by car), about 5/10 mins drive from the centre but well signposted. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is a free car park round the corner.

The only drawback was the two rooms that faced onto the square, which was very quiet to begin with, but as it was a Saturday night it got a little busy during the night and was rather noisy. The only windows opened onto the square and to close them made the room a bit hot and stuffy.

If you like small individual hotels with character this is for you, and it's very reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Its quirkiness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at Antheus hotel for 5 nights in total and had a great time. We stayed in the Hermine room which was decorated in white with black accents. The room was quite small with a double bed, TV, full length mirror and dressing table. There is a small hanging rail shelves and a rack for your luggage.

The shower and sink were located in the bedroom with the toilet in a seperate 'cupboard.' I would recommend this hotel for couples as I think the size of the room is a little too intimate to share with friends, etc.

The hotel staff were very pleasant, and most spoke a little English. Check in was at 3 p.m. but we arrived early and they put our luggage away for us and when we got to our room it had all been taken up there for us.

The hotel is located above a resturant which we visited for breakfast one morning and for dinner one evening. The evening meal we had was simply amazing - I would highly recommend the resturant.

The hotel is located in a small town called Parame and is on the main bus route. We got the bus every day (a day ticket is only 3 euros). They have a few shops and bars, a few restaurants, another amazing restaurant and a wonderful bakery.

If you wanted to walk into the centre it takes about 45 mins and you can either walk through the town or along the sea front (which is beautiful at sunset).

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the size of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This was an enjoyable stay made all the more so by the very helpful hostess. Our room was big and comfortable and well-furnished (if a bit over the top, style-wise). The hotel is not central but buses or a car can get you into the old part of St Malo very quickly and it's not a long walk to the beach. There is no onsite parking bgut there is a car park only metres away. The restaurant/bar looks inviting, though we preferred to sample the local cuisine elsewhere. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Tiny rooms, a bit smelly, don't go there, I'm sure there are a lot nicer hotel to stay in St-Malo!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We spent two nights at Antheus as a stop-over on our way to a gite in Brittany.

We were welcomed by the friendly owner who speaks good English (although we tried our best to use our bit of French!) and she works very hard in the hotel.

Our room was right at the top and quite small but very clean and with a comfortable bed and big flat-screen tv. It had rather quirky decor, but was charming! The loo was teeny and the shower/sink area was open to the bedroom, but for a short stay, this didn't bother us at all.

Breakfast was additional to the price we'd paid for the room online. Served in the lovely restaurant it was quite a simple spread of croissants, bread, nice jams, orange juice and tea/coffee. It was very nicely presented though but if staying longer I wouldn't choose it every day (I like a bit of fresh fruit or cereal!)

Parking for the hotel is on a nearby carpark and is free.

We ate dinner in the hotel one night and the food was very, very nice, and the table service could best be described as 'leisurely' but the food was worth the wait.

The location of the hotel is good if you want to be slightly away from the centre of St. Malo - it's on a good bus route to the old town (but we discovered they recently withdrew the direct service and you need to change buses at the station. We didn't walk far as I was on crutches, but the local area round the hotel has some nice bars and restaurants.

Overall we were pleased with the hotel and would recommend it as good value for money.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The very small room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

My family and i had an amazing stay at the Hotel Antheus. it is owned and run by a lovely young couple, who were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating, and very, very hard working. Our room and bathroom were charming and very clean. The hotel has been recently renovated. Apparently each room has its own individual decor. We had a wonderful dinner, prepared by the owner/chef. The walk along the beach from the hotel to the walled part of Saint Malo was beautiful. We give this hotel our highest recommendation.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Antheus Hotel from 1st - 4th Dec 2007. Although the weather was atrocious most of the time, our stay in St Malo was wonderful. The hotel was well positioned although 'a good walk' away from the Old Town. Our room was small and comfortable, spotless and with plasma tv (the toilet is very small which may prove difficult for some). The breakfast is basic with bread, croissants, coffee and orange juice being on offer which may have benefitted from a choice of cereals as well. The service however was second to none and we felt perfectly 'at home' during our stay. The staff spoke good English and were informative when we asked about travel or local facilities.
Value for money - Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — The small toilet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antheus Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antheus Saint Malo

Address: 2 Place du Prieure, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antheus Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antheus Saint Malo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.