We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel with perfect location right on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambassadeurs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ambassadeurs to your Saves list
Hotel Ambassadeurs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Chaussee Du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great little hotel with perfect location right on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we have just enjoyed a lovely long weekend in st.malo at this hotel which we stumbled on by chance and can't recommend it highly enough! small but immaculate and stylish rooms and ensuite with high quality fittings, linen and mattress to ensure great sleep! easy and free to park along the street outside, located right on the promenade with access nearby down on to the expansive beach (at low tide!) which you can walk along to the old walled part of town, max 15mins. wonderful staff and welcome, extremely helpful and lovely breakfast enjoying the amazing view all for a great price... we will definitely go back! I think the lady (owner?) fell in love with my little boy too as she wanted to keep him there...I should have offered him in payment!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    93
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
215
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here the night before an early morning ferry back to Portsmouth. We were lucky to find street parking just outside (this could have been a problem as the hotel doesn't have its own dedicated parking). We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly and efficiently. Our room was small but immaculate and recently refurbished with a lovely, comfy bed. We had requested an infant cot which had been duly set up in our room in advance of our arrival. There is an excellent creperie (pancake restaurant) just behind the lobby with beautiful views onto the beach; we had such excellent pancakes that we had to keep ordering more! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two nights on sea view room at this hotel.
My friend and I were little tired cause of long trip and didnt book any hotel in saint-malo.
We looked around to find reasonable hotel. Hotel Ambassadeurs staffs are v kind and room is also nice. We promptly decided when we see the room (V clean) and the view.

We can access the beach easily through the restaurant. I enjoyed the breakfast and tea time.
and there is a terrace of the roop top. the view is v nice but it was quite windy when i stayed there.

The reception is opened 24 hours. and wifi speed in the room is pretty good.
The main door is closed at mid night so u need to get a code to enter (or call the receptionist)
If I were back again to St.Malo I will definately stay this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor and sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here last night. Easy to park within walking distance. Rooms well decorated and stylish. Comfy bed. Warm.
Dinner was off by the time we arrived by ferry which was disappointing, but there was a fabulous restaurant nearby who could accommodate us at 9pm.
Wifi signal was strong and able to be used in rooms.
Only ten minute walk to intramuros.
I would recommend as an easy place to find ferry as well.

Room Tip: We had city view which was just on street, but sea veiws were another 50 for across the corridor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April. When we arrived there had been a mix-up with our rooms (by LateRooms, not the hotel) but this was soon resolved. When we got to the rooms we thought we were in the wrong hotel! The pictures on the internet were of the (two-star) hotel before it had undergone a total refurbishment over the winter. The rooms were stunning. We had rooms on the street side. There was no problem with traffic noise. Breakfast was excellent and the choice plentiful. The view overlooking the beach was lovely. The hotel is only a little way along the promenade from the Intra-muras of Saint-Malo, a fifteen minute stroll at most. We managed to park outside or across the road without a problem. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Les Ambassadeurs and they fully deserve their three stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we came to this hotel by chance to realise it was the best hotel in our trip. the place was recently renovated,the rooms, though small are nice and clean and with a beautiful view to the ocean, where tou can watch the tide twice a day and hear the music of the sea all noght long. the dining room, facing the promenad near the ocean,with a neat and elegant decoration, breakfast was great and the service was super. also on top of the roof there is a balcony facing the ocean.

Room Tip: ask fo r a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in early May. The photos online make the rooms look a lot larger so it was a real squeeze with our bags and a travel cot in the room. But the quality of the room (its fittings, furnishings, etc) is high class. We had a room looking over the street but it was still very quite. The hotel's about one kilometer away from the old town but we either walked or easily parked nearby the walls. Parking for the hotel is only available in the street. We parked right or the front, but it could be tough to find a spot when it's busy. Highlight of the stay was breakfast in the morning. It was a great way to stay the day - overlooking the beach in the cozy creperie. I'm not sure how much it was, but it was worth it, as along with the normal French buffet of breads, cerals, etc you were offered either a freshly fried egg or pancake. Overall I would stay again,  but only if there was 2 - not 3 of us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambassadeurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeurs

Address: 11 Chaussee Du Sillon, 35400 Saint-Malo, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ambassadeurs 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel familial de charme donnant directement sur la plage sans traverser de rue. Idealement situe entre la cite historique de SAINT malo et les Thermes Marin, il permet de rejoindre a pied ces sites en 10 mn tout en longeant la mer. Valerie, la nouvelle proprietaire, aura a coeur de vous accueillir personnellement dans des chambres renovees et vous faire decouvrir les galettes et crepes Bretonnes dans une salle art deco donnant sur la mer. Terrasse panoramique avec bar sur le toit de l hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambassadeurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.