We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Nemours

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Nemours to your Saves list
Hotel de Nemours
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue de Nemours, 35000 Rennes, France (Parcheminerie Toussaints)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Rennes
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is located in the centre of the city and offers excellent value for the money. The rooms are large and the staff is very welcoming and accommodating. An easy walk to the big Saturday market, the historic section and the beautiful Parc du Thabor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    88
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
80
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hotel de Nemours is centrally located in Rennes, which is good if you are on foot but problematic if you have a car. Nearby parking was not easy and very expensive. The common areas seemed plain but acceptable. The breakfast room was very crowded with a poor quality selection given the price. Suggest going to the nearby market to pick up really excellent breads and cheeses. Our room, though large with a sofa bed for our daughter, was really worn and musty. On the plus side, the local sights were within an easy walk and the price for the room was low compared to other stops on our trip.

Room Tip: The suite is economical if you need space for one or two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night en route to southern Brittany in order to have a look around Rennes. It was a good choice; not only is it conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the metro station and bus stops at Place de la Republique, but it's only a short distance away from the old town and many cafes and restaurants. We didn't have a car so parking was no problem and wanted to be somewhere fairly central, so it fitted the bill exactly. It's nice that it's not a chain hotel and has some character. The receptionist was especially helpful in giving us directions and spoke English. We had booked a 'classic' room (i.e. basic) and indeed it was, although it was quite adequate for our overnight stay. Our room was on the 5th floor which necessitated using the tiny lift (only one person + bags or two fairly lean people!). Not really a problem for us. Our en suite room was hexagonal in shape and the double bed took up most of the space, but that was OK for one night (or possibly 2 max). The bathroom was painted olive green and needed some redecoration as the paintwork around the wash basin was chipped. The bed linen and the toiletries were good quality and we slept well in our quiet room at the back of the hotel (no view). The breakfast buffet (9,50) was extra but had a good selection. Free WiFi but it was a bit intermittant. Definitely recommend this hotel so long as you're not looking for luxury as it's clean, friendly, central and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very cute quaint and small hotel in the old part of Rennes. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our room looked out onto a cobblestone street and small shops, which we enjoyed. But the best part of the hotel was the help they provided when we had to cancel our vacation and return to the US because of a medical problem. Unfortunately, I don't have the name of the receptionist, but she called the 3 remaining hotels we had planned to stay at in France and canceled our reservations. She also found and booked a hotel in Paris for the following night before we flew home 2 days later. As I was not feeling well, I don't know what we would have done without her.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel in the center of Rennes is perfectly placed to explore the town center. The reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The rooms have been done in very relaxing neutral colours and all the space has been used well. The bed was very large and comfortable and the breakfast, although squeezed into a small room, was excellent.

The only problem was the inability to park outside to unload bags. I had read reviews warning of this and was prepared with a small overnight bag but, in view of the unsecured parking, still had a job to clear the car of film equipment and ferry it up to the room.

If you are preparedand great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is in a perfect city center location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small and a bit tired. Could use a coat of paint. But for the price and convenience it was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days (january 2011), got a great price, breakfast was nice, luckily enough my room was at the first floor, so no need for the tiny elevator, dont even know if it was working.
My room was big and the shower was great. Would highly recommend it. Staff also are nice, i dont speak french, they help me indicating the metro and places to go.
Location is very good as well!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Nemours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nemours

Address: 5 rue de Nemours, 35000 Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes > Parcheminerie Toussaints
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Nemours 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Nemours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Nemours Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Nemours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.