We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, central, chambre d'hote.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Symphonie des Sens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Symphonie des Sens to your Saves list
Symphonie des Sens
3 rue du Chapitre, 35000 Rennes, France (Cathédrale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Rennes B&B and Inns
Bradford on Avon Wilts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quirky, central, chambre d'hote.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The first problem was how to find Symphonie des Sens - access in the heart of the historic centre of Rennes is not easy, but Fabrice's instructions were clear and it was certainly worth the effort. What an amazing building - my engineer husband couldn't take his eyes off the 1470s staircase construction and we lay in bed admiring the enormous fireplace in our room. Fabrice was charming and informative and sent us happily off to find an excellent restaurant (on a Monday evening). Shame the weather was not better to enjoy more of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
37
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only 2 nights in Fabrice's beautiful home in the heart of Rennes but wish we had stayed much longer!
The rooms of this historic building are beautifully furnished and cosy with private bathrooms and are made up each day with fresh towels etc. The rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and there is wine, cider and other treats available in the communal lounge area.
Breakfast is served either in your room or in the lounge and is a beautiful selection of homemade crepes, pastries & preserves, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, tea and coffee.
Fabrice is a charming host, offering helpful suggestions and advice on local restaurants and sightseeing ideas and directions within the Brittany area.
We stayed in Rennes in order to visit Mont Saint-Michel but on Fabrice's advice we visited Dinan, Saint-Malo & Mont Saint-Michel in one day. We had the yummiest crepes & cider in Saint-Malo - a Brittany specialty!
We had a car and whilst the hotel itself does not have parking, Fabrice was able to organise secure parking for us at a discounted rate - and less than a 5 minute walk away.
We could not have possibly asked anything more of our stay in Rennes and cannot thank Fabrice enough for his kind and generous hospitality.
I highly recommend Symphonie des Sens for those visiting Rennes or those wanting a place to base themselves whilst holidaying in Brittany.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Located in a 15th century building in the heart of Rennes, this hotel, which has 6 rooms and 1 suite will provide you with a unique and charming stay. The hotel is in the old town area which has to reached via access through street barriers, erected to allow for pedestrians to have the ability to walk the streets undisturbed.One merely lets the attendant know they are going to the hotel and passage is a breeze.
Each room is different, and all are spacious and full of character. The proprietors a husband and wife could not be more gracious and helpful. The owner personally hopped into my car and guided me to a parking garage (no extra charge) both upon arrival and when leaving. The street where the hotel is located has 9 restaurants within a 2 minute walk and the hotel has an outdoor terrace area on the second floor where you can lounge and enjoy the fresh air. The continental breakfast, which is included, has the standard French fare nicely presented and all very good.
A different experience which had all of calling it memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This 5 room hotel is in the oldest building in Rennes from 1430. Great ancient winding staircase leads to a wonderfully renovated large room with a giant fireplace and old squeaky floors. Fabrice, the owner was charming and very helpful. Recommended a great gourmet crepe place down the street that was fastastic. The only trick is getting to the hotel. It is in the old section of Rennes. The GPS failed when we got close. Also there were retractable barriers blocking the small streets. If you find your car at a barrier you will see a box to speak into. You say Symphonie des Sens and magically the barrier goes down so you can proceed. We were unsure. I went into a brasserie and the lady came out and showed us how to use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights in this lovely B & B. The common room was spacious and warm. The bedroom was also spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were gracious and inviting. One even noticed that I hadn't had any of my tea for breakfast and that evening brought out several different types to see what I'd prefer in the morning. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Symphonie des Sense for three nights in August 2012, paying just over EUR 150 per night (excl breakfast).

We were genuinely impressed by this fantastic place to stay. It felt like we had the whole top floor of this beautiful medieval house in the historic centre of Rennes to ourselves. It was not so much a room as it was an apartment. I am almost hesitant to recommend it here, as I fear it will become too highly demanded. But well I shouldn't be selfish about that.

Although the house is very old (with a beautiful staircase, albeit that might be a deal-breaker if you are less able!), our rooms was comfortably modernised (yet decorated in style) and equipped with an excellent bathroom. We even had a kitchen, a seating area with television, a dining area and a spare bedroom at our disposal!

It was more of an apartment than a room really. It was cleaned daily and really could find no fault with it.

Breakfast at EUR 9.50 pp is a real treat. The host, Fabrice, takes real pride in his croissants, and all of the other yummy things you will find on a large serving tray in front of your room at a time of your choosing!

Fabrice and his father, who initially welcomed us, were very friendly and chatty. They helped us store two rented bicycles inside the house (under the age-old staircase) at night, and Fabrice made a reservation for us at his favourite creperie in town: just down the street at La Saint Georges. Now there is a lot of creperies in Rennes, and I am sure there are other heavenly ones around, but I am gonna have to give it to Fabrice: La Saint Georges takes crepes to a whole new level. We had a fabulous meal there.

For us, we truly loved experiencing historic Rennes style by staying at the beautiful, comfortable and family-run place that is Symphonie des Sens. I would go back there anytime if I could!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

A hidden gem in the centre of Rennes...

Trying to locate the hotel following our sat nav was very very stressful. thankfully we arrived on Sunday evening and there was very little traffic to add to wilting tempers!! We telephoned the hotel for directions and a french speaking lady tried to unsuccessfully help. Schoolgirl french kicked in ... we remained lost!! Thankfully the hotel called our mobile and we were informed "my father will stand at the end of the road and wait for you" ... IN ENGLISH!! We were unaware the hotel is not accessible by car as there are bollards. Although the father did not speak English he was SO helpful and charming.
This hotel is divine ... we loved the 'honesty' system for wine ... I can imagine how lovely it would be sat on the roof terrace having a glass or two in the summer. it's in a great location with stunning furniture, art and decor. The bedding is heavenly .... I wanted to take it home.
It was wonderful to have the privilege of staying here with our two dogs ... thank you.
I LOVED the shop downstairs .. i would have purchased the bed linen ...if only I hadn't taken my husband with me!!
Great place to stay .... one of the most unique hotels we have stayed in ... it's beautiful.

SUGGESTION TO OWNERS... the only criticism is the towels were slightly tired looking and may benefit from updating?
I would love the pearl edged ones you have for sale in the shop!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Symphonie des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphonie des Sens

Address: 3 rue du Chapitre, 35000 Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes > Cathédrale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Symphonie des Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphonie des Sens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.