We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rennes Centre Gare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rennes Centre Gare to your Saves list
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue du Capitaine Maignan, 35000 Rennes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Rennes
Guernsey.Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good overnight hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable, the rooms well laid out and air conditioning works well. The breakfast very good with a large choice and is available from 06.30 in the morning for travellers leaving on the first TGV.
Next door is a restaurant which is really superb and at the same time reasonable. An enormous choice of fish and crustacean plus various meat dishes.A perfect hotel for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: As we only stayed there one night and arrived fairly late and left very early I cannot give any advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    95
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
38
26
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Be aware that there are TWO Mecure hotels in Rennes, quiet close to each other. The rennes station has reallly helpful assistants to advise travels (in red) and they directed me to this hotel even though I should them the address was Centre Parliament!

When I got to the Mecure Centre Gare about 5pm it was a bit difficult to find the entrance which is on the side facing South (I think).

The reception staff checked my booking but said I was not booked and even though I was grumpy (repeatedly) after lugging my suitcase they were still very nice to me. The lady phoned the other Mecure and found I was booked in there, and the man gave me a map and drew the route for me and made sure I was pointed in the right direction.

In the end I could not be grumpy any more because they were so nice and friendly and professional!

If I was booked in I am sure I would have been happy with the service if the 2 on the recption were a guide to the ecure staff.

Room Tip: I onlyhad experienc of the nice staff there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The area isn't so good but hotel is very nice. Just a short walk of 4 minutes and the views improve. 15 minutes walk takes you through pleasant areas to the fantastic half timbered old town.

Room Tip: Avoid facing shopping centre where you can hear some noise at times overnight. No noise at all if wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of an organised coach holiday with Shearings. We were only about the 3rd group to have stayed at the hotel with Shearings and the hotel had made some changes about how it dealt with groups and our stay was pleasant.
The hotel is located very near to the station, just off a main road that you could walk along to get to the town centre. Just to the side of the hotel is a shopping precinct with a large modern shopping centre including a supermarket. During the night there was some noise from people in the precinct but we heard this as we like to sleep with the window open, if it had been shut we would not have heard anything.
The check in was very efficient and the room was quite big. The bathroom was very clean as was the room. There was a kettle with tea and coffee. The beds were very comfortable and there was also air conditioning in the room.
Breakfast included a good selection of cooked and cold food, everything from cheese, cold meats, pastries and fresh juice. We had dinner served as a buffet and there was always a lovely selection of salads and patés for starter, a fish or a meat alternative for mains and a huge selection of different cakes and tarts for dessert.
The bar of the hotel does not open on a Saturday or Sunday but there was a good service the rest of the week, a large beer costs 7Euros and a glass of wine or cider 3Euros. There were lots of bars and cafés in the area around the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

You can't beat this place for location - one block from the metro in Rennes, which is one stop from the rail service to Paris. And the place is clean and modern and well maintained. Americans should think of it as a Courtyard by Marriott kind of place. My only objection is that they don't believe in top sheets, which means, I'm sure, that the comforter that covers you has covered others (I can't imagine that they launder it after every different stay). This, however, seems to be a European thing. Try not to think about it too much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Rooms : The rooms are quite large and have a nice large flat screen tv. That said, there are very few chanels if you do not speak French. There is a laptop safe, tea/coffee making facilities, large bed (nice bedding too) and a large bathroom. Note that there is not a bar or air con (only a fan).

The area: The hotel is well located as it is right in the town centre. If you arrive via train it is really well located. There are heaps of restaurants in the area selling crepes and galettes and other food too. There are also quite a lot of shops in the immediate vicinity.

Parking : The hotel does not have free parking. You can park outside the hotel near to some apartments for part of the day for free, otherwise you need to use the large parking lot which is around 70c per hour.

Staff: The staff were really friendly and helpful. We speak no French and they really made us feel comfortable.

Restaurant : We only had breakfast at the hotel, but it was nice. A full continental breakfast with some crepes of course! The staff in the restaurant speak very little English, but our basic French got us through

I had a good stay. I would recommend this hotel and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rennes Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Centre Gare

Address: 1 rue du Capitaine Maignan, 35000 Rennes, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
#16 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Centre Gare 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Rennes, this 142 room hotel invites you to experience the magic atmosphere of the Broceliande forest. 5 minutes walk from the TGV railway station, this airconditioned hotel features a bar serving light meals as well as room service. All rooms have access to the hotel WiFi network. Cold drinks and small snacks are also available to guests 24 hours a day at Boutique M. 100 percent non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Rennes Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel Rennes
Accor Rennes Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rennes Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.