We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, comfortable, well located, quiet - and Oh so helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Rue Des Reguaires, 29000 Quimper, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, comfortable, well located, quiet - and Oh so helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed a week and wished it were longer.
The staff go out of their way to be helpful. Bus details, a charger for an I-pod, a power board, a fan........Nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size, the bathroom well appointed. Air conditioning/cooling could be a little more efficient but this is typical of France and older buildings.
Location is great with the old town about 200m away down the road. About 6 restaurants within a 5 minute walk and more than 24 within 10 minutes and all those we tried were very good. The hotel has been completely modernised recently and is in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
61
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm not surprised to see many excellent reviews here for Hotel Kregann.

We were amongst their first guests when they opened six years ago and we loved it so much then we kept extending our stay day after day, finding yet another reason to stay around Quimper just so we could carry on enjoying this hotel.

It was with mixed feelings we returned. Would it live up to our high expectations and happy memories?

I'm happy to report it did.

A couple of things have changed however: we enjoyed it before when we were almost the only guests. This time it was a full house and the sound insulation achieved in an historic conversion is sadly lacking; the people above us must have been wearing ski boots, and they seemed to go to bed an hour after us and get up an hour before us. The next time we'll ask for a top floor room.

Also the decor and the housekeeping could do with a touch of love. The wallcovering in our room was damaged from the desk and the bathroom door was squeaking so loudly it was impossible to go to the bathroom without waking everyone. All for want of a drop of oil. The wardrobe doors could also do with a simple bit of adjustment.

But those niggles aside it is a great place in a great location. Warm and friendly staff, comfortable and convenient.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I spent three days in this very pleasant hotel , while attending the Festival de Cornouaille. The hotel is very clean and fresh, and offers a very modern decor, while allowing for traditional touches respecting the culture of QUIMPER. Room 220 is very quiet, despite the fact that the hotel is next to an Irish Pub which is central party time.... I appreciated the quality of the bedding and the duvet, as I did the jetted tub and the very silent air conditioning.The hotel is very well situated. Gated parking is a plus, in a city where parking is difficult. It is a hotel with a French soul, rather than the typical North American Best Western. The staff are very friendly , helpful without being obsequious. The breakfast buffet is nice, offering organic products. En français: un hôtel très sympa et agréable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The friendliness of the reception staff and keenness to oblige was exceptional. When I left some items in my room, it was very pleasing to have them posted to me.....many thanks to the staff for that. I really liked the unusualness of the hotel's modern décor, particularly encountering it in contrast to the very ancient attractiveness of Quimper itself. I was travelling with a group and I was aware of a few comments about the air-conditioning not operating, but fortunately my room (top level overlooking the back of the hotel) was quite comfortable, so no complaint from me about the temperature....our stay was in early June and the weather was mild. Breakfasts were just great.....I would certainly stay here again if I ever revisit Quimper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a really difficult hotel to rate, thanks to France's unusual way of ranking its hotels. Classed as a 4 star, in most other countries I've visited it would be a 3-star. That's simply because it lacks most of the things you'd expect from a 4-star hotel - a quality restaurant, a classy bar or two and so on.

It the Kregenn had been a 3-star, I would've rated it much better. But judging it against 4-star hotels elsewhere in the world, I can only give it a 3 rating on this site.

That's not to say I didn't enjoy my stay. The hotel has excellent, friendly staff who know how to deliver quality customer service. It's just a minute or two from the old city walls and the medieval heart of old Quimper, so very well located (although in a fairly drab side street). It has good parking, which you have to pay for, and is just around the corner from a great Breton bar (the Ceili) and a fine restaurant (the Erwan).

The hotel has a modern look and feel, our room was a good size with a bathroom that looked very new. Decoration and furnishings were OK. My partner and I slept well at night, this being a pretty quiet area, and cleaning could not be faulted.

Breakfast was a basic continental type, with a few paid for extras. At 13 euros, it was a bit steep.

Quimper itself in June was pretty quiet, especially on Sunday and Monday when you could hear a pin drop and many places were closed. Otherwise, it's a compact and pretty place and well worth a visit for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed on a warm night in June. The hotel decor etc. was fine if a little corporate - we didn't much like the uber trendy and ubder uncomfortable perspex chairs though. When we arrived at the hotel around 5'ish we mentioned to the concierge (on our way out to dinner) that the room was very hot, even with the windows open, and that the air-con didn't seem to be working - she assured us that someone would look at the controls in our absence.
We arrived back later to find that nothing had been done, and consequently had an uncomfortably hot night with consequent poor sleep - the last thing you want in a hotel. We complained about the room heat to a different concierge in the morning as we checked out - she said that the air-con was not switched on until late June no matter how hot it was. She said that we should have been offered portable air-con units the night before if we complained about the heat (which we did). Sadly we were not offered the service - so all in all we were very disappointed with our stay here and won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure air-con is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed for one night on a recent visit to Brittany. Hotel reception, clean and welcoming. Reception staff friendly. Requested non smoking room on arrival but when we got to room it was obvious previous guests smoked. Were given a different room immediately with apologies. No tea making facilities or safe in room. WiFi connection terrible. Room good size. Area outside hotel a bit ordinary but walking distance to all main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn

Address: 13 Rue Des Reguaires, 29000 Quimper, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Quimper
Quimper Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Kregenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.