We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but no charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gradlon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gradlon to your Saves list
Hotel Gradlon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 rue de Brest, 29000 Quimper, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable but no charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. We had a large room and a large bathroom, actually it was a room for disabled people, although the room we had booked was a superior room. The beds were very comfortable but the decoration of the room seemed dated and did not have the charm that you can see on pictures of this hotel. The bathroom was also quite old. Considering that the price of this hotel was quite high, we would expect a bit more. The location of the hotel is good, it is close to the old city. The staff and the owners were very nice and helpful with information about the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
62
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

the Gradlon Hotel is a real find, and a truly great value. If you are arriving by car, just pull up in front, and off load your luggage. You can rent a garage space just around the corner from the hotel, for 10 euros per night.The owner , and the front desk staff are all fluent in english , and couldn't be more helpful in giving directions, and making restaurant reservations. The rooms are clean, and cosy, with good maid service.They serve a fine breakfast situated around a garden courtyard.The Gradlon's proximity to the older part of Quimper allows for good exploring by foot.
Our stay at the Gradlon was a real pleasure, made mostly by their wonderful staff. While in Quimper don't miss the charming restaurant L'Ambroisie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not deluxe, but very comfortable. The husband and wife who own and operate the establishment are charming and helpful, always ready to guide and give advice to the tourist. The proximity to the center of the charming old city and to the river is a major plus, and a good reason to bypass the somewhat unappealing cafe next door. In France we often bypass the hotel breakfast, and head out to a cafe for our grand cafe au lait and croissants or baguettes. Here, we recommend the hotel breakfast. The hotel is built around a small well planted courtyard, and our first floor room was at the opposite end, so each evening ended with a very pleasant, but brief, garden stroll. Our September mid week visit was at the end of the tourist season, but street parking was a bit dicey at the end of the day so that the ten Euro for a garage spot does seem a wise move, more so in high season.

If you are only visiting Quimper, there is no need for a car. The Gradlon was a ten minute walk from the Gare (with a bit of an uphill at the end) and a twenty minute walk to the opposite end of town to visit the faince factory and museum. Everything else is in-between.
(there is no need for a car if you are only visiting Quimper.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel on the courtyard would be the quietest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayedin Hotel Gradlon whilst touring with Afootinfrance, in Brittany. It was a great trip and Afootinfrance were spot on with their hotel recommendations. The tour that they put together for us was a 12 day customised tour, where they provided the guide and driver as well as vehicle. Quimper was lovely and the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel was the first we experienced in our driving tour and are now on our 4th. What a pity they all couldn't be as good as the Hotel Gradlon. Spotlessly clean, superb breakfast and a very friendly proprietor who gave us wonderful recommendations for lunch and evening meals. A lovely hotel which we would definitely recommend to others and would be more than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor but I would think all the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Don't judge this book by its cover! A small charming hotel with heaps of French Character. All rooms are different in decor. We stayed here for 4 nights, and it was a pleasure to return to the hotel after a day out. Large modern bathrooms, bedroom a good size. Wifi in rooms. Our room looked over the pretty central courtyard. Hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and another couple of minutes to the centre of town, All staff speak perfect English, very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Bar and local shops only metres away. There is no lift, but am sure there are rooms on the ground floor for wheelchairs etc. This hotel is well worth the money it is delightful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. The location is good. We spent 5 nights here in a superior room. It was large, pretty, and comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern. We prebooked a parking space in their garage convenently around the corner. We probably didn't need to spend the extra money but we were happy the car was in a secure place during our stay. Our room faced the inner courtyard and was quiet. The lobby sitting room and bar were comfortable and welcoming. We had drinks in the evenings at the bar and in our room. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was expensive so we only opted for it one morning. It was good. If you are going to Quimper this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gradlon

Address: 30 rue de Brest, 29000 Quimper, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gradlon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gradlon Hotel Quimper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gradlon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.