We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir de Lanroz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quimper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir de Lanroz
282 Chemin de Lanroz, F-29000 Quimper, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Quimper B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cannot say much more than the 25 "excellent" reviews before mine. We thoroughly enjoyed our day/night at Manoir de Lanroz. Especially important was the sincere and generous hospitality provided by the owners. If you like serenity, comfort and beautiful vistas, you will be happy here. A very good value --big room with views down the great lawn to the water, comfortable beds and a modernized bathroom. And, a good breakfast to send you off on the road to other adventures.

If only all the places that get "excellent" reviews on Trip Advisor were really as excellent as this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Manoir de Lanroz earlier this month, and it was thoroughly wonderful in every way. Everything was perfect -- the location (very remote, at the end of a long mostly unmarked and lovely road south of Quimper), the building is soooo beautiful, the couple who own it (the hosts) are so absolutely lovely and kind, the breakfast was delicious in served in an exquisite room, and the room we stayed in was cozy, tasteful (old in style, but modern in comfort) and dreamy. I wasn't feeling well when I arrived, and the owners were so very kind to me/us. We will definitely return one day!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Manoir de Lanroz in June, 2012 during a period of cold rainy weather. Our moods were lifted upon arrival by the welcoming attention of Genevieve and Eric de Brommer. Erik assisted us with our bags and we were served local goodies and shown to our graceful bedroom on the second floor (rouge room). The rouge room has a beautiful view towards the Odet river. The house is decorated in 19th century style with sensitively updated bathrooms. The bathroom sink and shower stall were full-sized, modern and worked perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet. We detected no noise from neighboring guests. The rooms and manor are wifi-enabled. The care and stewardship displayed by the manicured property and the lovely house full of de Brommer family antiques enhanced the personalized nature of our visit. Genevieve's breakfasts at the dining room table were very copious and gourmet. Several selections of local artisan breads, cheeses, fresh squeezed OJ, strong fresh coffee and a decadent cake baked fresh by Genevieve every morning. It is evident that Genevieve takes pride in her excellent baking and endeavors to please her guests. She was continually asking if we needed or wanted anything. Be sure to admire the museum quality painting in the dining room of de Brommer family members in the early 1700's. The hosts provided us with dinner reservations, museum reviews, itinerary recommendations and even took us on a personal tour of their property. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel but the personal home of a very nice couple. We had a negative experience at another Chambre d'Hote (B&B) in France due to an unprofessional host so we determined it is essential to choose ones with friendly, professional and welcoming owners. This is the gold standard! The only possible disadvantage is the distance from Quimper's city center. If you are looking for something within walking distance to sites this would not be a good choice. If you are looking for a friendly, authentic and relaxing spot near Breton sites you can do no better.

Room Tip: The red (rouge) room overlooks the large lawn that dips down to the river. Modern bathroom facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I traveled alone to Quimper on a research trip. The owners of the Manoir were exceedingly kind, even going out of their way to buy special Breton specialties at the boulangerie for my breakfast because they knew I was interested in local gastronomy. The rooms are beautiful, elegant, quiet, and impeccably clean, with wi-fi that works well. After nine trips to different regions in France (staying at seven different family-run B&B's) the Manoir remains tied for first place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our return visit to this lovely manor house confirmed our opinion that it is one of the best B&Bs that we have ever stayed in. Our charming and engaging hosts made very effort to ensure that we had a wonderful stay, providing delicious breakfasts and ensuring that we had all of the information and assistance that we needed. The rooms are elegant and well-appointed in a traditional style with delightful views over the park and to the River Odet. The Manoir de Lanroz is ideally located for visits to the city of Quimper and the coast. We would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have just returned from a tour of Normandy and Brittany staying at many Chambres D'hotes. This was our favourite.
We loved our 3 night stay with Genevieve and Erik de Brommer in this beautiful historic Manoir. Contrary to some reviews we found it easy to locate. It was perfectly situated on the banks of the Odet, near historic Quimper and on the road to Fouesnant and Benodet- not forgetting the idyllic sandy beaches of Beg Meil, where our children loved to play when they were young.
In chorus with other reviews we would like to echo the comments about the comfort of the Manoir, the cleanliness, the amazing breakfasts (with a surprise everyday) and overwhelmingly- the sincere welcome by our host and hostess, who helped us feel like we were personal guests.
Just to add a little adventure to our stay a 'sounder' of wild boar came out to greet us one night, on the long driveway.
Thank you, for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Fortunately that we found this fantastic B&B in tripadvisor. This 17-century historic building (chateau actually) was located in a private forest. I'm not quite sure about the size of the forest, but it is at least several km squares because you must drive 2.6 km from the entry in the roadside to the building. Taking a walk in the forest is a must. You can see lots of trees (of course..), mushrooms, birds, or even a Bambi if you're lucky enough (not for us). The path will lead to a point that 2 rivers cross (Eric will tell you how to get there). Sitting on the riverbank, looking at the sunset in the breeze, the picturesque view will relieve all your stress. Eric and Geneve were very friendly and hospitable. This 3 nights stay is the best experience we had in France.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir de Lanroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Lanroz

Address: 282 Chemin de Lanroz, F-29000 Quimper, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir de Lanroz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manoir de Lanroz to your Saves list