We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms and tiny towels.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26, rue du Marechal Leclerc, 35800 Dinard, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms and tiny towels.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

On the plus side the Balmoral is very central but there is no parking and the room are so small you can't leave your suitcase open anywhere. The dustbin track woke us up really early. Terribly mean with the towels too. Only one small towel per person. What do you do if you want to wash your hair? The breakfast buffet was good. At £90 a night it was not cheap either. A chambre d'hote just outside Dinard with ample parking would cost a lot less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel as part of a four day jaunt in Northern France. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room clean and comfortable although there was a smell in the room that suggested that the plumbing might need some attention. The decor was pleasant and we spent a peaceful night. Although the hotel is on a corner, the road we overlooked was very quiet.The photo makes the hotel look more exposed than it actually is. We found free parking further up the road, but there is a multi- storey car park very close by which is a real bonus in the dog fight that is parking in Dinard. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel but can't comment on breakfast as we opted to find a cafe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helier
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at The Balmoral for three nights during our week of walking the Brittany coastal paths. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and there was even a small balcony with views across to the building over the road! The Balmoral is central with easy access to the shops and the popular and lovely Plage de l'Ecluse. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and the petit dejuneur was much more than a croissant and coffee with cereals, fresh fruit and cold meats as well as pains chocolats and other sweets and savouries to choose from. Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 but arrangements could be made for early starters, on occasion. We would stay here again. In case you were wondering, a "Braderie", as far as we could gather, is a sort of giant car boot sale / flea market that takes place over a weekend on the streets of the town, selling everything from last season's fashions to antique postcards to second-hand children's toys. Great fun for anyone who likes to shop or rummage. The Dinard Braderie coincided with our stay and zealous stall-holders begin setting up at 6am. Cock a doodle doo!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely clean, friendly and comfortable hotel, ideally situated in the centre of Dinard. 10 mins in a taxi from the airport.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confolens, France
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night which was fine, but had no view, and hardly any room in the bedroom, very tight indeed. Clean, and pleasant reception staff.

Charged 10 euros per dog which seemed expensive.

Room Tip: Room with a view, and ask if you can swing a cat?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay at this Hotel, Pleasant receptionist who spoke very good english and even remembered my name when I was having breakfast in the morning. Will I return absolutely.

Room Tip: I had a third floor room overlooking the street heard no noise what so ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

hotel is conveniently located in dinard, a small, charming city near st. malo. our room was spotlessly clean. the staff was very friendly and helpful. we liked it so much, we extended our stay, since dinard is a convenient place from which to explore northern brittany. from dinard, we visited mt st michel, st malo, cap frehel, dinan. also, dinard is a charming little town that's fun to explore on its own.
note: we travelled off-season, in october. the weather was delightful and there weren't the crowds that swarm the region in summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral

Address: 26, rue du Marechal Leclerc, 35800 Dinard, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Dinard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Dinard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.