We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel, don't send out for laundry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Ave de Kermario Cd | 82 Avenue des Druides, 56340 Carnac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Carnac
Denver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel, don't send out for laundry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Good location, easy walking to restaurants, shops and the beach. Clean throughout, the staff was pleasant enough and the food was OK (but not great). We brought a group of 45 people as part of a tour and most everyone seemed to enjoy the hotel. We plan on going back in April with another group of 45. One point however: DO NOT use the laundry service! Our clothes came back literally wadded up in the bag (not pressed or folded), sit damp, and VERY wrinkled. Even steam ironing could not get the wrinkles out. The destroyed one of my favorite shirts. We had to get everything re-laundered at our next hour in Zurich.

Room Tip: The elevator is extremely slow so make sure to get a room on the lower levels so you can use the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    193
    48
    27
    6
See reviews for
73
237
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in Celtic Best Western Plus on August 2011 – couple with tree teenagers – in the family room.
It was our best experience in France. Room spacious, good location e.t.c
But what makes this hotel to be excellent - it’s a amazing service.
All requests done immediately with smile and huge pleasure.
Just example: family with 5 kids come to the restaurant that was closed.
Staff representative opened the restaurant and call to the chef.
I definitely recommend this hotel to all and specially for families with children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

A street away from the gorgeous coast; a two minute walk away from the main street with plenty of restaurants and bars; a great swimming pool and excellent restaurant - what more could you ask for?! This hotel is just great for couples or families who want to enjoy a bit of beach time. Our room had a balcony which was a pleasant surprise - request one if you book here. Parking is available at 10 euros per day - however, we arrived early in the day and parked out front and were told we could leave the car there for free of we wished. So - unless you're keen to put your car in an underground car park then get here early and save yourself the extras!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs, uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is a super little hotel for saying it's more budget than luxury. We got a top floor suite with a lovely big top opening window, with a great view of roof tops and a glimse of the beach and sea. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast super and probably the best we sampled in France. The evening meal was good. The reception isn't much to look at but the staff are very friendly. The lift is on it's last legs... We used the stairs! Unfortunately we couldn't try out the pool as it was being cleaned. It's in a super location with easy walking to the shops and beach. We got a super view of the Bastille day fireworks that were at the port from our bedroom window and the days festivities in the park were amazingly friendly...medieval music, dancing, free cider with cassis and nibbles and lots of wooden games to try your hand at. A super seaside stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed for two nights and were given an upgrade from our original booking of a standard room. We were on the top floor and had a lovely suite with even a glimpse of the sea from our bed. All the facilities in the room were exceptional for a three star hotel.
We booked a table for the restaurant for the first night of our stay and although the food was very good the service was a bit lacking. Think that maybe someone hadn't shown up or the staff there were not trained up as it is not their busy season yet.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but there is a lovely cafe just across the road with lovely fresh pastries.
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Celtique.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception56, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear customers,

Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in the Best Western Celtique Hotel for your next stay in Carnac.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Overall, the hotel staff did everything they could to respond to every need of ours. The hotel is located just a short walk from beautiful Carnac beach and close to the little tourist train that takes you around to the different megalith sites, which are well worth seeing. The Carnac beach is not a fancy resort beach town at all, but it has beautifully preserved beaches and sand dunes and an active environmental program to protect and restore its beautiful sea resources. We had dinner in the hotel and it was very good, well worth it and probably one of the best restaurants in town.

Now, about the rooms. They are very modern and clean, but two of three rooms I looked at had a really weird lack of privacy between the bedroom and the bathroom. The first room had a shower/bath room without any door at all, just completely open to the hallway that led from the bedroom to the toilet room, which was closed. And from within the bedroom, the wall looking into the shower/bath was glass with only a minimal pattern on it for privacy. When I found this unacceptable, they offered me Room 403, which has been discussed on TA, and which has a steeply sloping ceiling, making that part of the room almost unusable. I had to reject this room as well, although it had a completely private bathroom. They very kindly offered me a 2-room suite for the same price, because I was getting rather upset at this point. This third room was great, it had a sitting room, a bedroom and a huge bathroom, but again, the door to the bathroom was only partially frosted, and if the person in the bedroom stood up, they would actually see someone sitting on the toilet. I need more privacy than this, but we made do. Please be sure to look your room over completely before unpacking, and to arrive early if you think you will bothered by any of these quirks. Maybe they think this is sexy and modern. The grounds are really pretty with trees and landscape. I loved Carnac for the wild seascape (do make the drive down to the Presq'uile and Quiberon, very beautiful drive, about 20 minutes).

Room Tip: check out the bathrooms if you care about privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reception56, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate your opinion.
We are very happy to know you have enjoyed your holiday in the Junior Suite room.
We have taken note of your request for the bathroom and will discuss this issue internally.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Celtique is relatively modern with angles and corners having been, it seems, shoe-horned into a small-ish site. It’s clean, the staff are friendly and welcoming and its position is not bad. It’s not badly equipped, but more of that later. Carnac Plage is not quite the elegant resort the guide-books and literature would have you think but rather a curious amalgam of the chic and the cheerful. Busy at weekends it quietens down during the week. Our room was clean, a little oddly shaped and quite comfortable; it had all the usual fittings and a tiny, but functional, balcony overlooking a road. Not the best of views but you could sit there with a glass or two quite happily just watching France go by. The bathroom had the usual features but gave the impression of having been an oversight: it was curiously shaped (because of the hotel’s overall architecture) and the toilet was interestingly sited and which resulted in some contortions. All usable but not overly comfortable. All of the room’s quirks were redeemed by the stunningly magnificent breakfast which comprised (and I’ll list this) the following: choice of four cereals, yoghurts (fresh and packaged), fruit (fresh and packaged), preserves and conserves, 5 cold meats, 5 cheeses (none pre-packaged), scrambled eggs, bacon, smoked salmon, gravalax, numerous types of bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, other pastries, regional cakes, fresh fruit juices, coffee, tea (various types) and hot chocolate. Freshly squeezed orange available at about 2 Euros extra. For a 3 star hotel this was quite exceptional and even if you had to pay extra for it (about 14 Euros if I recall) it was well worth it. We didn’t use the restaurant for dinner but it seemed OK despite the somewhat limited menu. Other highlights included the heated swimming pool (which did get a trifle crowded at weekends), the sun terrace (very hot when we visited in April), the gym and the spa facilities. A slight niggle: I can accept having to pay for a sauna but nine Euros to use the “relaxation room” seemed a bit of extortion. (The trend to charge for facilities I personally find not welcoming and merely a means of parting guest from money). The pool table in the bar was handy and not used to any great extent (at least when we were there). We used it happily though. Parking on-site but only for about 20 or so cars. Nicely located for the town and easy to find. For a 3 star hotel it was pretty good and if we visited again I’d probably stay there, if only for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Stock up on the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa

Address: 17 Ave de Kermario Cd | 82 Avenue des Druides, 56340 Carnac, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Carnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Carnac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Celtique
Best Western Carnac
Carnac Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.