We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved how they are just there ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Megaliths of Carnac

Megaliths of Carnac
Carnac, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Carnac
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Loved how they are just there ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in the castles campsite opposite. So we got to see them from the off. Children loved them then aged 10 and 16 would recommend them as a must see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    160
    67
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a disappointment?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It was a bright sunny day, but there is no atmosphere, so its a collection of stones, some of which have been replaced by the authorities.
I know its neolithic, but only because I read books, not because it seems ancient, it could have been man made in the 1800s.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carnac Dolmens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Intriguing - well worth a long look. Lots to see, many variations - some difficult to find in woodland.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stones!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Although the stones are fenced off to preserve them, you can wander around the edges and still get a good view of them. Even though my beach and theme park loving family hated them, I loved it here. So much history. You can pick up a free leaflet from the visitor centre which helps to fine the stones within this huge site.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

a most incredible place to visit..Stonehenge, eat your heart out! but like Stonehenge now, you just can't get near enough

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megaliths of Carnac also viewed

 

Been to Megaliths of Carnac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Megaliths of Carnac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.