We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for the 'Fete Internationale de la Mer'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Rade

Hotel de la Rade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Rade to your Saves list
Hotel de la Rade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue de Siam, 29200 Brest, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Brest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for the 'Fete Internationale de la Mer'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I were booked into the Hotel de la Rade (via email and telephone) by our French daughter-in-law (who is originally from Brest) but now lives here in England with my son and grandson - we all wanted to visit the 'festival' (which is only held every 4 years) - so, preperations were made months before our visit (10/07/12 - 14/07/12) - perhaps as well, as all the hotels in Brest were booking-up quickly.
My 4 stars for the hotel do not compare with the 'actual 2 stars' that the hotel holds - my 'extra' stars are for the excellent, convenient (shopping) location within the town and also with regards to the 'festival' in the harbour (200 metres away).
Hotel Positives: - Location (as above), Breakfast - good quality continental with coffee/tea/juice, 7.50 euros all you can eat, Daily maid service - towels and sheets changed daily - Comfy beds and pillows - Lift to all floors - 24 hour front desk - free Wi-Fi. - Some staff/owner speaks English.
Hotel Negatives: - Small room (we stayed 7 nights and struggled with limited wardrobe space - no drawers, so used our suitcases on the spare single bed) - large mirror on the wall 'cracked' (sharp edges) - 3 out of 4 lights in the room were not working - extractor fan in the 'bathroom' not working - the shower cubicle was a bit grubby - not dirty - (grouting around the 'base' needs replacing).
Conclusion:- for a 2 star hotel, the Hotel de la Rade is adequate on all counts.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisier - overlooking the 'main' street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
9
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

This medium sized hotel is run by a friendly couple who speak quite good English, and is at the far end - near the harbour - of a central street in Brest.

The rooms are small, and have no fridge or tea-making facilities, but ours was clean and attractive. Parking outside the hotel was easy, but you need to be up in time to buy a ticket each day (about 4 Euro).

We thought the hotel good value for money.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, recently refurbished, location, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

2*, 54 Euros for one person during the week, 47 Euros on weekends, breakfast another 7E, better than most French hotel breakfasts—includes ham (if you get there early), hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, apple sauce, fruit cocktail, fresh croissants and chocolate croissants in addition to the usual bread, juice, cereal and coffee/tea/chocolate. This is the best two star I’ve stayed in. It has been recently been thoroughly renovated so all the rooms are bright and cheery, the elevator is new and roomy, and the staff is exceptionally friendly. Rooms have either a view of the Darden River and shipworks or the street and row of restaurants below. My room also had a small balcony I could step out onto. The bathrooms are a bit tight and missing things like soap dishes, but all works well. It’s about a 6 Euro cab ride from the train station or a 15-20 minute walk. It is really perfectly located for the traveler. There is a laundromat right across the street, as well as a bar that has good free wi-fi with electrical outlets (just buy a beer or something) for as long as you want. The hotel has wi-fi in the rooms but it was not functioning while I was there (and lots of folks, including wi-fi repair people) are on vacation in France in August. The row of restaurants is the gathering place for the city—outside eating and drinking, a variety of foods and extremely convenient for this hotel which sits in the middle of them. Hotel windows are double paneled so no outside noise. This one is a keeper!

  • Liked — The overall quality, especially related to price, and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — I found nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Rade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Rade

Address: 6, rue de Siam, 29200 Brest, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Brest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Brest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Rade 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de la Rade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Rade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.