We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality is the key” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abalys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abalys to your Saves list
Hotel Abalys
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, avenue Georges Clemenceau, 29200 Brest, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€45 (EUR)
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Brest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Hospitality is the key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is not often that you can recommend a French hotel based on hospitality. Abalys changed my view of French hospitality. The location is great, the rooms are OK for the price, it is clean, the breakfast is good, but on top of it all– they are nice people. They will accommodate special needs; they will book restaurants and tours for you` they will help you, and above all they will do everything with a smile.
I have already been there five times and will most likely come again.

Room Tip: Do not take a front room on the first floor on weekends; the noise from the street can be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    67
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
64
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly and the hotel's location made it easy to come and go from. Breakfast was adequate with a selection of Bretton pastries, fresh fruit, meat, cheeses and juices. Certainly would recommend staying here if visiting Brest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I found this very comfortable for our weekend stay in August. Nice, clean room, very nice people being very helpful. A good breakfast selection. Hotel is centrally located, so you are close to most things in Brest. One minor negative is an elevator that only fit one person. We found it best to load our suitcases into the elevator, climbing the stairs and calling on the elevator on third floor to get the luggage up :-) Another minor negative is the slow pc supplied in the room. The wifi worked excellent on our laptop though.b

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel more quiet than on the front. Seagulls being the source of noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here, in part based on this site. Glad we did. As stated in other reviews the rooms are quite small, (it is France after all), and the lift is comically small. Everything else was very positive though. You are 2 minutes walk to the main station. 5 minutes walk to the main tramline and city centre. Rooms were very clean. No noise. Staff were probably some of the most genuinely nice hotel staff I've met. Took time to advise on places to eat, timetables, online check in for airport etc. Even sent up a free breakfast because some work was being done on the hotel door. In short a decent budget hotel greatly improved by fantastic staff.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back on the 1st floor which had a larger bathroom than the one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our room was quite small, and I took a nasty fall coming out of the shower as water had leaked onto the floor (no bath mat supplied). We had a lovely view from our small balcony of the park and distant sea view. The free Wifi worked well. I asked if there was a safe to keep our money in, and a lovely elderly gentleman arrived and carried a huge strong box up to our room, stowed it under the bed, and gave me the key! There was no charge for this. The receptionist spoke English and was very helpful. There is an excellent restaurant one minute away called Le Ruffe. We couldnt figure out how to get into the very large car park opposite the Hotel, but managed to park easily in the car park in the road round the corner. We left early the following day, so cannot comment on breakfast. Would definitely stay here again if in Brest.

Room Tip: The sea view room at the front was charming and cost €58
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Abalys for 5 nights in one of the rooms at the top floor at the rear (very quiet).
There was a computer in the room, as well as wifi everywhere.

The hotel is family owned and runned and the atmosphere very friendly. Good advice is given at reception for restaurants, shopping etc.
The breakfast is copious and a good deal for 8 euros.

The downside is the size of the rooms, which are very small. Also, as an another reviewer remarked, there is a funny smell at times...

When I come back to Brest, I'll might try another hotel to compare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located 100 metres from the railway station, and on the main street, the hotel is small yet cosy.

Breakfast is complimentary and may not have a good spread.

Rooms are very small and the luggage is difficult to manoeuvre inside the room if you have more than two standard size luggages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abalys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abalys

Address: 7, avenue Georges Clemenceau, 29200 Brest, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Brest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brest
#4 Business Hotel in Brest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Abalys 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Abalys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalys Hotel Brest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abalys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.