We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Vichy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arverna Citotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arverna Citotel to your Saves list
Arverna Citotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue Desbrest, 03200 Vichy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Vichy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Vichy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having negotiated the complex traffic systems in Vichy it was a relief to find this centrally located hotel with helpful owners. The room was a treat and the bathroom with large shower very nice indeed, all very well appointed. Why this hotel is only ** I cannot imagine. The secure parking is a bonus although it is some 200 metres from the hotel in part of a secure parking shared with others. No problem there though.

I was feeling a bit sceptical when I arrived but by the time I left in the morning I knew I could only say it was excellent, hence the top score. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    65
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
93
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great in every respect. Good location. Caring,helpful hosts. Beautiful, clean spacious room at 83 euro per night,very good value. Nice breakfast at very reasonable price. Secure and convenient carpark. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Larger room for little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is everything you need for a very comfortable, hassle free and customer focused stay. The owners are very professional, friendly and speak good English and their hotel is clean, very well decorated in a modern style with all the comforts you need. The location is great for nipping backwards and forwards, being very central and near to restuarants and shops. Everything was very comfortable and of a high quality in the rooms and the parking is handy and secure. Breakfast was lovely, as much tea, coffee, hot chocolate an djuices as you could drink, a very good selection of fruit, cereals, breads, cheeses, toast and croissants and a huge array of jams to set you up for the day. Would highly recommend this as the place to stay if you get the opportunity to visit this wonderful town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Averna Hotel with my mother and sister for one night. On arrival our room was not ready as we were early and the owner offered to park our car in the hotel's car park and kept our luggage so that we could go out and experience Vichy. His English was excellent and he gave us a guide with two excellent walking tours. The rooms were fabulous and very modern and exceptionally clean. The Hotel's location is also excellent as it is just down from one of the main streets but very quiet. Breakfast the next day was also good with very good service from the waitress, again her English was excellent and there was a very good choice. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if planning to visit Vichy as we were made to feel very welcome and would like to thank the owner and his staff for a very pleasurable visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our positive experience started before we even arrived. The owner, Didier, was very helpful in quickly getting us a dinner reservation at "Table d'Antoine" (That's another favorable review we need to make.). Upon arrival at the hotel, we were warmly and efficiently greeted by Didier who speaks good English was so tolerant with my very basic French! The quality of the room was excellent and a great value for the price we paid. At breakfast, we felt the warmth of a great staff who seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests. I'd happily recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier F, Propriétaire at Arverna Citotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Madam,

We thank you very much for the comment that you wrote in Tripadvisor about our way of considering our customers. You have perfectly resumed our leitmotiv ''Discovering a home away from home''.
We try every single day to do our best to make people that we welcome , feeling like our guests during their stay.

We hope to welcome you again one day at the Arverna.

Friendly yours,

Jeannine, Didier and our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed one night in a superior comfort room, which cost 83 euros. It was immaculate and spacious and we loved the crisp white sheets and duvets. The bathroom was also impeccably clean and functional. The owner was very helpful with restaurant advice. The hotel is very centrally located surrounded by many cafes and restaurants. The breakfast was not really worth 8 euros - one can easily get a cafe and croissant nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night en route back to UK. Delighted with every aspect of the Arverna. Lovely top floor room, with very comfortable bed, plenty of space, good bathroom (excellent shower). Hotel is in great central location, and yet despite being in the centre of town the area around the hotel is very quiet. Really valued secure off road parking. Friendly service and good price. Planning to return for a longer stay.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier F, Propriétaire at Arverna Citotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Madam & Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for the kind review that you have posted on Tripadavisor.
Your satisfaction is the result of all the efforts that all the staff do every day for years now and we are very pleased when guests let us know that they enjoyed very well their stay with us in Vichy at the Arverna.
The maxim of Citotel, our hotels network is '' Discovering a home away from home''. We hope that you have felt it during your stay with us.


We hopefully welcome you again at the Arverna.

Best regards,

Jeannine & Didier
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arverna Citotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arverna Citotel

Address: 12 Rue Desbrest, 03200 Vichy, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Allier > Vichy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vichy
#1 Business Hotel in Vichy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arverna Citotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arverna Hotel is located in a quiet street of the center of Vichy, close to everything else that makes the queen of spa towns in Auvergne region so romantic. Reserve in the Arverna and appreciate the opportunity to spend a nice and comfortable stay in Vichy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Arverna Citotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arverna Citotel Vichy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arverna Citotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.