We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins to your Saves list
Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Boulevard des Etats-Unis, 03200 Vichy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Vichy
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

As a family of 5 Canadians we arrived in Lyon France ,rented vehicles at the airport and travelled on to Vichy . We spent 5 days at this hotel before returning to Lyon for a couple of days at which point some family members returned to Canada . My son and I stayed on and then began a 2 week extensive vacation covering parts of France ,Spain and Italy .
We arrived late evening ,with quite a bit of luggage and there appeared to be no one to help with the luggage . We were pleased that they had arranged for our three rooms to be near each other and we able to order sandwiches . The rooms were spacious and clean . The bathroom had a full shower and tub. Lovely . The bed was extremely comfortable . We found the breakfasts to be more than adequate and the service efficient . We made reservations at Le Bistrot twice and found the food quite good . On our second occasion we were a little dismayed to find we had been charged for 5 meals rather than 4 but it was corrected immediately . The young women working in the bar was very helpful and offered some good advice . The hotel is situated in a very nice area and the grounds are peaceful and relaxing .

Room Tip: The back rooms facing the garden and park would be a good choice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    106
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
139
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very unhelpful staff in reception and bar, choose not to eat in the hotel as staff very rude. Found if you were not French they had no time for you. Poor standard of room, shower in need of a deep clean and furniture old and hurt myself on a nail that was sticking out of the chair, manager came up and removed nail but left chair with a hole in the material. Only 5 coat hangers for 3 people, asked for more and was given another 5! No English TV apart from BBC World and CNN, when you have an 8 year old child its not the most appealing TV. Poor internet connection, however this is free, but drops every two minutes and you have to log on. Very poor pool area, small space and outside pool is a joke, no music or TV in there. poor atmosphere! Robes and towels where always clean and fresh and nice toiletries. My Husband used the gym but I choose not to due to the attitude of the staff towards the English. Nothing to shout about and we would not stay there again. My husband was running the Challenge Vichy Triathlon but nothing was available, menu wise for athletes except on the morning of the race, breakfast was earlier.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel if you have children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here as a stop off on the way to Provence. We booked a park room which was lovely with huge windows overlooking the river and park below. The room was very nice with a huge bed, and the bathroom had a large bath and separate walk in shower. The reason this hotel hasn't receive a 5 is because the service at check in was ok but not 5 star, we were given a spa view room initially, and were not asked if we needed help with our bags. Also, if you are choosing this hotel to use the pool, be warned that there is an additional charge for this €20 per room per day! Breakfast (which was very average) was also additional at €21 per person...this adds up fast! Le Bistro restaurant was very good indeed. I did use the spa, but it looked amazing.

Room Tip: Book a park room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Large room with view toward the spa. Air contioned, extremely comfortable large bed, good bathroom with 'walk-in' shower and separate tub. Large flat screen TV, kettle for coffee and tea. Bathrobes to be used for spa, free slippers for spa as well. Reception for correct. Feared the worst reading another review in which receptionist apparently did not appreciate 'underdressing'. We were certainly not up to 5 star standard after a long hot car drive but no problem. We did not use the restaurant for dinner nor breakfast. If we have to say something negative it would be the large spider dropping slowly from ceiling one evening, but that can happen anywhere. The window is difficult to open. Location is ideal, very close to the park next to lake/river as well as to the old beautiful centre.

Room Tip: Our room on 6th floor with view to Spa was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins is a great retreat to relax in a quiet, classy and extremely customer friendly environment. The Spa has original offerings and the staff is adorable, try the Vichy shower special, it will leave your skin smooth as a baby. The Hammam has a great fun ambiance with its blue stars and mini room at the end. The icy mini pool for your feet gives a very nice relaxing sensation. But our favorite is the Breakfast, the scramble eggs are so tasy, 4 or 5 different fresh fruit juices are available, smoked salmon, dozens of cheese and real croissant baked by the chef. You will love it! Finally it is very well located, 2-minute walk to the Opera, the main square with its beautiful planted promenade, awesome book store and the casino for those who like it, but also 2-minute walk to the river on the other side where you can go sailing if you prefer nature. Overall we highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try the rooms with a view on the Park, it has a great light in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

It was an amazing experience worth the price. The spa services, restaurants, and hotel room (spacious as was the bathroom) will not disappoint!! A wonderful park is next door, perfect for a morning run along the river or an evening stroll. The hotel is well placed making it easy to visit the city. I plan on returning soon:))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Although this superb hotel is central to Vichy it faces directly onto some beautiful botanical gardens and the river. Great spa facilities, food and great service - ask for English brochures if youi don't speak French - they are not in the rooms automatically! Vichy itself is a classical historic French city - one of the most beautiful we have seen, with great architecture.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the third floor have private patios overlooking the gardens. The higher up rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins

Address: 111 Boulevard des Etats-Unis, 03200 Vichy, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Allier > Vichy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Vichy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the historic Napoleon III park in a charming Belle Epoque spa town, the 4 star Vichy Spa Hotel & Resort Les Celestins is elegant and refined. Enjoy a romantic break as you admire the panoramic views of Lake Allier from the sun terraces or the cosy lounge in your elegant room. After a balneotherapy treatment savour a gastronomic or low calorie meal in the N3 restaurant, created by our talented chef Pierre-Yves Lorgeoux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vichy
Vichy Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vichy Spa Hotel Les Celestins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.