We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Le Puy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
34 bd du Marechal Fayolle, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Le Puy-en-Velay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two nights in Le Puy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel Le Regina is conveniently located in Le Puy, across the street from the old city and a short walk from the train station. Rooms are adequate for a three star hotel, very clean, spacious and well tended. The restaurant serves a full menu of regional fare and a full bar satisfies all needs for tasty beverages. We were a group of six who stayed for two nights in late June, 2013, preparing ourselves for a long walk on Le Chemin de Compostelle. What stands out in our collective memory of Le Regina was the caring and warm service by the entire staff. In particular, Monseiur Venisino went to great lengths to provide a high quality and entertains dining experience. He was joyful, efficient and creative. All in all, it was a wonderful experience for our first night in France.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
31
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we came as a group of friends for a few nights over 2 stays of a few days each . Our experience was similar for each of the stays.
the position of the hotel is very good and because of the double glazing on the windows our room was very quiet. on our first stay our room was on the top floor which was no problem with access because of the handy lift. clean room but strange choice of floor covering (painted concrete floor) which made us think we may have got the room that allowed animals in.
on our second stay, we got a better roomier room with a lino floor covering .
on both occasion the rooms were very clean, the bed itself being comfortable too but on both occasion the pillows on the beds had gone past their 'used by' date and were lumpy and frankly horrible to sleep on. our friends had similar experience with their pillows as well so we concluded that all the pillows in the hotel needed to be replaced by new pillows which is unusual to find in a hotel these days.
the only other remark I can make about our stay was the fact that the shower which was situated within the bath was not possible to use without drenching the bathroom itself because of the lack of shower screen of any kind so to not splash water everywhere, you need to squat in the bath itself which defeats the shower idea.
the restaurant is very good overall. David our waiter who spoke very well in English was very kind and obliging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A nice family run hotel well situated in the center, with easy access to the old town, we had a nice room that overlooked a little road, was quite and although not very big it was well equipped.
The restaurant is excellent with a very nice 31€ menu that is tasty and original, the hotel owner looked after us very well and proposed very nice wine to go with the meal.
If ever back in the region we wont hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel Regina is situated in a presumably central location in Le Puy en Velay. Around the hotel, the city looks rather grey and a tad run down. However, first looks can deceive. Even though the hotel's facade and sign look somewhat like a cheap Parisian brothel, and the reception desk further strengthens this impression, the room we had (regular room, no fancy upgrades) was very modernly designed, very clean (no hairs on beds or floor, clean bathroom) and had the standard TV set in it. WiFi is free of charge and no registration was necessary. The room as such was impeccable and service for booking, check-in and check-out easy and friendly.

To us, the hotel's restaurant came as a very pleasant surprise. Unbeknownst to us, the restaurant has been awarded by Guide Michelin in the past. When we went to dine their, the food was phenomenal and portions where unbelievably big (considering that it is a rather fine-dining location). We had been travelling through the South of France for about a week before getting to Le Puy and this restaurant has been the first really pleasant culinary surprise on our trip. A note of caution: we have been told by locals that the quality of the dishes depends on whether the "chef" is present. In our case, we were lucky!

In summary: very good hotel that offers good value for money, which we would easily visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Got to Le-Puy rater late and found this lovely hotel. Very nice rooms, very friendly staff, excellent food. The gastronimic menu was first class. We are planning to go back to the region during the summer months. This will be a certain stop over...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

At first glance, the restaurant is quiet but many top rank chefs of today have made their classes there. The cuisine is highly traditional with a touch of modern madness. I tempted by the selection of mushrooms sautéed with some excellent local fish. No regrets! The wine is well chosen. But I especially the liquor du Velay from the Reserve of the boss. It will satisfy all the amateurs of harshest spirits, and I recommend sleeping on site before releasing it. I liked the idea room with the jacuzzi! This is a small hotel, a small town so don't come without reservation! A bit noisy sometime in the morning.

Room Tip: Try the jacuzzi room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The photos on the website were taken very favourably. The corridors had no windows and were therefore very dark adding to an airless a bit dirty appearance.
The view was nice (into back streets). The bathroom average. The booking service via the internet was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 34 bd du Marechal Fayolle, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Haute-Loire > Le Puy-en-Velay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Le Puy-en-Velay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.