We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All types of accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appart' Hotel des Capucins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Appart' Hotel des Capucins to your Saves list
Appart' Hotel des Capucins
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29, rue des Capucins, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Le Puy-en-Velay
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All types of accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Modern, clean 'gite' as it is called locally. Has self-catering rooms with kitchenette; rooms without catering facilities and dormitories. My room was a double with stylish decor, spacious, light and airy. The hotel is right on the Camino St Jaques de Compostela and many walkers stay there. The only complaint I heard was the price of the breakfast. I find continental breakfast a waste of money so did not try it.
Staff at the reception were friendly and helpful and the reception is open until 22.00h.

Room Tip: corner rooms have more windows, preferably on 1st floor where there are fewer stairs. Dorms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived& the welcome were warm and friendly. Our room/suite was at the back of the hotel, on the second level. Everything was impressive and tasteful until the train started racing just behind our rooms! Yes, please note: no soundproof rooms or double glazed windows! The trains passing by at night woke me up, frightened(!!!) quite a few times. And since the walls are paper thin, sound travel...
The location is great in terms of the old city, but one's sleep is not guaranteed. It was clean andcthe modern decor was a nice change, but with the noise factor.... Not sure if I will go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We didn't expect much since we only intended to stay two nights in Puy, but then they gave us a nice room at groundfloor, directly at the terrasse, so it was just a few steps away from relaxing in the sun or letting our daughter play and practice her first steps.
The owner (?) speaks (at least) English, German and French perfectly, is very friendly (all the other keepers we've met aswell) and helpful.
In the morning you may chose betwen a breakfast buffet (9€) or a small breakfast (3€) which consists of a Crossaint, a hot drink and a juice. Enough for the first hunger!

Since Puy isn't very big, you are in the old city core in just a few minutes.
You shoud do a small walk in the evening up-hill, just the street behind the hotel, to have a nice view over Le Puy and it's cathedral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Arrived in the beautiful town of Le Puy-en-Velay and asked for a midpriced hotel at the Tourist office.
All friendly on arrival with the rooms in a very modern style which won't be to everyone's taste I'm sure. No food served but there was a small bar and patio.
While sitting on the patio about 6 pm we noticed some very loud male guests. I said to my wife "Prepare for a sleepless night". They came back later very loud and very drunk banging walls and doors. My wife didn't want me to go out so I didn't but by 4 am we'd had enough and called the manager who had to drive over, there being no night porter.
When he came he spoke to us as if we were idiots, asked the people to be quiet then strolled off not saying a word. While he was away they started up again and we decided to leave but the manager still didn't believe there was a problem. We left at 5 am. They still haven't replied to our mail.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appart' Hotel des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart' Hotel des Capucins

Address: 29, rue des Capucins, 43000 Le Puy-en-Velay, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne > Haute-Loire > Le Puy-en-Velay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Le Puy-en-Velay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart' Hotel des Capucins 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and design, the Appart'hotel des Capucins welcomes you in the city centre of Le Puy en Velay, and features entirely equipped rooms and duplex.Wi-Fi Internet access, kitchenette available on request, flat-screen television and modern bathroom, all has been designed to offer an upgraded comfortWi-Fi Internet access, kitchenette available on request, flat-screen television and modern bathroom, all has been designed to offer an upgraded comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Appart' Hotel des Capucins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appart' Hotel des Capucins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.