We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but small lift and bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beaulieu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beaulieu to your Saves list
Hotel Beaulieu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Avenue des Paulines, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel but small lift and bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a small independent hotel close to centre with very helpful English speaking staff. There is private parking although you do need to book a place to be sure of getting one. Breakfast is traditional French and perfectly adequate.
We had a budget double room on the fourth floor that was reached by a tiny lift, barely able to accommodate two people and some luggage. The room wasn’t really big enough to have a double bed and a bathroom shoehorned into it. The bathroom itself was so narrow that standing at the sink meant your back was against the sliding door. We would stay there again but ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Avoid a "budget double " and room 13 in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
21
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My momentary disappointment riding up to the hotel was quickly allayed by the very friendly reception, the room with ensuite was functional, clean and simple with a cool green bamboo theme and free WiFi. The location is great, just five minutes walk from the old town with its cathedral and warren of twisting streets. A very good find and real value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the main road; perhaps a room at the back would have been quieter although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a weekend break in Clermont attending the recent Heineken Quarter Final Rugby game.
This hotel services the nearby University during the week. The owner provides a great service to weekend visitors such as ourselves. The rooms were spotless with crisp clean bed linen and towels. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereal and plenty of fresh bread, croissants, ham, cheese and yogurt with loads of coffee. We were able to park the car overnight in the back garage for a small charge. The owner gave us directions to the tram and restaurants etc located in the main square area.
So if anybody is thinking of visiting Clermont for the Rubgy or otherwise you could do worse than choose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Nice two stars hotel , staff friendly. Rooms are a bit simple but clean and convenient enough for a short stay. Very near from the train station, really perfectly located for the traveler. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had one of the apartments and although furnishings were a little spartan it was clean and had everything we needed for the night. Having a fridge was a real bonus for recharging the ice packs for our onward trip (and storing the G+T). It would have been nice to have tea and coffee provided to go with the kettle but we'll know better next time. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and was the best coffee we'd had during our trip! An uphill walk takes you into the town centre in around 10 mins and what a great place it is. We'll make our stop longer next time so we can explore. The majority of shops were closed on Sunday until mid afternoon but the lovely cobbled streets and alley ways kept us interested. The manager was really helpful, providing maps and advice freely. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here with my teenage daughter for 3 days. It's a 2* hotel in the typical French style,tall thin older building over about 5 floors-but there is a small lift . They are in the process of refurbishing the rooms so ours (room 6) had a new bathroom and had been redecorated. The reception staff spoke good English and were really helpful. The whole hotel is very clean and they cleaned the room every day. I thought the breakfast at 7 euros each was good value- cereal, fruit, yoghurt, croissant, baguette, jams, orange juice, hot drink.
Our room was at the front and it is quite a busy main road. However there is good double glazing and we didn't get any noise.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for three nights. Worth the extra to have a studio as you get a fridge ,good variety of crockery and cutlery as well as pots and pans to use on the hob. You also get a microwave. The room was very quiet overlooking a courtyard ,very clean and spacious enough. Clean towels daily. Very central ,10 minutes walk to the cathedral area. Breakfast was fine in small room and served from 7.00 til 10.00am. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaulieu

Address: 13 Avenue des Paulines, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beaulieu 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaulieu Hotel is a very quiet hotel in the heart of Clermont-Ferrand.It is located halway between the train station (10 minutes by foot) and theold town. The hotel is easily accessible by foot and by car, as the main motorways lies within a five minute radius.Our establishment is situated in the universities quarter near Michelin headquarter.Several administrative services such as the office of social security or the university's rectorate are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beaulieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.