We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic and average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Boulevard Winston Churchill, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France (Formerly Balladins Clermont-Ferrand Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very basic and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Quite far from city center. Convenient if you have to deal with the Hospital or the University as it is just next door.
It is situated on the tram line so convenient to reach center. Although connenctions are good during day (almost every 10-15min) after 19:00 it is almost every 30' - 1h. Check what time is the last.
The hotel itself is very average. Clean rooms but really-really small.The first night,I had to change room as one window was not securing well so cold winter air was coming in. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Although not all of them speak english so it is a bit of a challenge.
Restaurant was closed. Breakfast is very basic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
7
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Don't waste your time and money in this hotel. Rooms very small and dark. Restaurant poor quality and expensive. Staff not helpful particularly in the restaurant where requests were met with "no we don't have that".

Very noisy location.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

I traveled to Clermont-Ferrand to attend a medical course at local University. I choose to stay at Balladins Clermont-Ferrand Centre (also know as Marmotel) since it is close to the Hospital campus. On the other hand, it a good 30 min. walk from the city centre.
I am not going to spent a lot of time talking about this hotel but I will try to descript it in couple of words: 1) Small rooms of 7-8 sq/m 2) The place is very noisy since it is under construction (nobody inform be about it when I book it!) 3) I stayed for 5 days and they did not changed the sheet at all !! 4) Poor breakfast 5) No a Value for money (65euros per night it is a lot money for a bad hotel in a small French town!) 6) Free wifi but available only at the lobby due to bad transition)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Not good. Arrived late after a very long journey and when I got to reception to check in, there was a gentleman also checking in with what was obviously 2 women of a street walking profession. I was checking in with my husband and 6 children, so this was rather uncomfortable.

The hotel is very basic, our 2 quad rooms, smelt of smoke, body odour and stale air.

The beds however a another story altogether, the single beds had dirty sheets on them, hairs, crumbs and bits were in them and the pillows smelt of body odour. Me and the small children all slept in the double bed and a fold out bed which was clean. The place had not been cleaned at all, dust everywhere and coffee and hot chocolate sticky mug rings on the desks and table. Had it not been 11.30pm and the receptionist not speaking any English I would have walked out, but we had no where else to go.

We did not even try breakfast the next morning we just checked out straight away.

Would I go back? Never.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques

Address: 18 Boulevard Winston Churchill, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France (Formerly Balladins Clermont-Ferrand Centre)
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint-Jacques, a perfectly located Clermont-Ferrand hotel with excellent amenities Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint-Jacques located just 10 minutes from downtown Clermont-Ferrand provides ideal accommodation for a city break or for your business travel. Our Clermont-Ferrand hotel is easily accessible no matter what means of transport you are travelling by, as it is located only 7.5 km from the Clermont-Ferrand airport and 2.5 km from the train station. Comfort Hotel Clermont- Saint-Jacques is also well served by public transport, with bus and tram stops situated right in front of it. Our Comfort Hotel is located just a few minutes away from the CHU Gabriel Montpied medical school as well as the University of Auvergne and the Blaise Pascal University, thus providing guests of this Clermont-Ferrand hotel with an easy access to the medical and academic centre of the city. Discover the region around our Clermont-Ferrand hotel Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint-Jacques is situated conveniently close to the historical centre of Clermont-Ferrand where you can go for picturesque walks. The sports fans among the guests of our Clermont-Ferrand hotel will enjoy visiting the sports complex Cezaux with its athletics stadium, gym, as well as football and rugby fields. If you are travelling with the whole family we recommend spending a day at the Vulcania park and visiting the lava dome Puy de Dome to admire the views of the mountains. Comfort Hotel Clermont-Ferrand is located about 15km from all these attractions. Enjoy your stay at our Clermont-Ferrand hotel Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint-Jacques welcomes you in one of its 91 rooms and apartments that are the perfect accommodation for shorter or medium length stays. All the rooms and the apartment at our Clermont-Ferrand hotel are fully equipped for your well-being and feature: Free Wifi access Flat screen TV with Canal + Courtesy tray Hair-dryer Kitchen facilities After a long day of exploring the surrounding area or working, you can relax with a drink at the bar or enjoy a nice dinner at the onsite restaurant of the Comfort Hotel,Clermont Saint-Jacques which will open its terrace on sunny days. Plan your next business meeting at the Comfort Hotel Clermont-Ferrand Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint-Jacques offers three meeting rooms to best suit your needs. There is a 70m² meeting room on the ground floor as well as a meeting area of 60m² on the 1st floor which can be transformed into two rooms, one of 40sqm the other of 20sqm. All the meeting rooms at our Clermont-Ferrand hotel are air conditioned, lit by daylight and equipped with all the necessary equipment for successful business meetings. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the entire team at the Comfort Hotels Clermont Saint-Jacques will be pleased to welcome you and help you make your stay a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Clermont Saint Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.