We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine in a "cafe" ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue

Avenue
10 rue Massillon, 63000 Clermont-Ferrand, France
+33 4 73 90 44 64
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $37 - $49
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in a "cafe" ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We discovered this place ... thanks to Trip advisor! Open 2 years ago (when we left Clermont) l'Avenue propose excellent french cuisine, fresh and tasty. We had goose liver "poele" and cod. The menu changes according to the season. Really a place to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    61
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Germain de Vibrac, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

In a small street close to a lot of other Restaurants in the centre of Clermont , a comfortable restaurant, attentative staff , Very friendly , good quality , overall , a very nice place to eat !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stopped at Clermont Ferrand on our way to Spain to have a meal and spend the night. Via Tripadvisor we found L'Avenue and we recommend it. The food is very authentic and fresh and the service is very personal. The staff speaks English very well. We will go here again if we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This engaging little restaurant is run by a couple – he in the kitchen, she (speaking perfect English) front of house. The food is imaginative, presented from a short menu, with a ‘plat du jour’. There is a strong rapport between the two (as so there should be), which was evident in trying to resolve my wife’s insistence that the meat could be as perfectly cooked as they liked, but that she should see no blood. We were invited to ‘trust the chef’, and he certainly delivered.

As is normal there are tables outside in a narrow street, which are fine if you want to breathe diesel fumes as cars pass slowly by, inches from your shoulder. Plus if you prefer tobacco-smoke free breathing, inside you should go.

Good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauroux, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Almost but not quite up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Four of us were in Clermont-Ferrand for a wedding; our choice of a restaurant for the Friday night was made fairly easy by the very favourable TripAdvisor reviews on this restaurant. It being a hot evening, we were looking to take our apéros outside in the pedestrian area around the restaurant. However, we were met with indifference at the first 2 bar-restaurants we tried (2 of our party speak fluent French) so in the end we took our drinks at tables in the street outside the restaurant itself!
If the reception and attention we were given on arrival were an indication of what we could expect to follow, we were in for a splendid meal. The restaurant is run by a couple (he is the chef, she runs the dining area) and explanations of the dishes and wines were willingly and knowledgeably given. We all chose different dishes (and tasted each other’s) so we had most of the menu choices covered.
The meal was indeed very good, cooked with care and skill using fresh ingredients (they do not have a freezer!) but our meals lacked that certain something to lift them into the class we were expecting from the eulogising Tripadvisor reports.
Our bill, including apéros before and a bottle of wine with our 3 courses, came to around 45€ per person.
We had no complaints and left happy, but we would most probably not return here – there are other restaurants to try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue also viewed

Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
 
Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
Clermont-Ferrand, Puy-de-Dome
 

Been to Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.