We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and very helpfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Marisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Marisa to your Saves list
Hotel La Marisa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, rue Sopite, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“charming and very helpfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

the interieur is very nice and the person at the counter was very helpful. The hotel is very central and the rooms are quite. Breakfast was good for the fact that we traveled outside of the season. On a trip with 10 different hotels where we tried to make sure that we stayed only in nice hotels this was the nicest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    46
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
202
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel. Great staff, great breakfasts, beautiful rooms - small but perfectly formed - and great location. If you're looking for charm and style, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Lovely rooms, extremely friendly staff, full of small thoughful details, this hotel is really a MUST if you stay in the area. Breakfast is very nice, and the hotel is ideally located for other restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

There is little we could add to the other glowing reviews. Perhaps if we could rate the service six star, we would. Immaculately maintained rooms for an excellent price. Staff was the friendliest we encountered in two weeks in the region, booked restaurants, lent us beach towels gave us thorough directions all with warm friendly smiles. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leognan, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at La Marisa for a weekend and fell in love with the place and its staff. The room was sparkling clean, comfortable and appeared to be more spacious than the usual experience in a city hotel. The location is very convenient to everything and despite being on the street side it was very quiet. It offers nearby parking which is a real plus. But the best attraction is the wonderful staff, including the owner, who were friendly, helpful and eager to make our stay a good experience. We truly enjoy visiting St. Jean de Luz and will stay at La Marisa whenever we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

La Marisa is a really good , small hotel. The location is great , everything within a very short stroll - having said that , the street is very quiet at night and there are no noise issues .. at least not when we stayed in mid september. Inside , the public areas are tastefully done. There's a comfortable lounge area, a breakfast room off which is a high walled pretty patio with lots of potted plants and foliage - great for an afternoon drink when the sun is on it. Our room was at the back - not much of a view - but that really isn't an issue for us. The most important thing was that it was spotlessly clean with an incredibly comfy bed and an adequately sized bathroom. Ours was their 'medium charm' category and it was charming enough for us!!!! We didn't feel claustrophobic and it was furnished really nicely. La Marisa's biggest asset is its staff. They are genuinely lovely , not overpowering - just giving a very personal touch to the proceedings. Parking is an issue in this small busy town and the staff try very hard to advise where to park. Their private parking is in a very low ceilinged car park - we didn't fit. But they were very helpful in pointing us towards more spaces.
The only very slight grumble is that breakfast is extra ( as it often is ) - and although it is beautifully done , there is not much variety and it felt a little overpriced. Having said this, I think you would find the same standard and price in most hotels. Having had experience of lots of different breakfasts, inclusive and extra , I think La Marisa could up its breakfast game a touch .... ie freshly squeezed orange juice and a slice of ham would probably do it ! This is our only small negative. We enjoyed the hotel very much and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: I'd opt for a front facing room if a view is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Can't say enough about this hotel. Everything from the room, the lovely patio, to the charming staff, made our visit to St Jean de Luz one of the best! The location just few yards from the beach and close to many wonderful restaurants is just the best. We wanted to stay longer than the 5 nights we had booked. Breakfast in the morning although not included, was very fine. I can't stress enough how helpful the staff was with making reservations and guiding us around. The only drawback is the parking, but it is manageable, if a little far. They have a lift.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Marisa

Address: 16, rue Sopite, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#2 Green Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#6 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Marisa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marisa is an hotel of charm, 3* star, located idyllically in the historic center, within 30 meters walking to the beach.Taking into account every traveler's needs, we put a lot of effort, so that you feel home. You will note that our rooms are all personalized where the old and the modern mix well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Marisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marisa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Marisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.