We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“st jean de luz holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas les Goelands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villas les Goelands to your Saves list
Hotel Villas les Goelands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 et 6 Avenue d'Etcheverry, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
GreenLeadersGold level
montgeard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“st jean de luz holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having found this hotel on the internet , I was pleasantly surprised to find it was in an even better situation than I thought ; very easy access to the beach by the steps - a little harder on the way back up! The hotel was very quiet and being there felt like St Jean in the 60's with all the character of a big old Basque house in that period. The staff could not have given us a warmer welcome - I have since recommended this hotel to two other friends who have both booked to stay on what I told them

Room Tip: Demander a la reception pour leur advis , ils sont toutes différents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    158
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
60
170
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having spent a reasonable amount of time travelling we booked this hotel because they were happy to take us, a baby and two small dogs and it had a great big car park...the hotel was clean and seemed happy to see us. We had a dog friendly room, which might have clouded my view.
The area is very South of France with a beautiful sandy beach and rolling scenery. The South of France always reminds me of an area which must have been just fantastic some 50 years ago, but really doesn't seem to have seen much investment since the old days. Well worth a visit but really the old school could do with all pulling together and re-investing into their future...only my opinion!....but I guess it will always bring in the public because of the weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for six nights at the hotel in August 2012 The hotel is well-located on a quiet road about 5 minutes walk from the beach. It has private parking. We had a package that included evening meals and breakfast. We were in room 2011 in the red villa. It had a balcony with a lovely view of the bay. The room was tastefully decorated with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was fine. There is no lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dinners were well-cooked and varied. There were no alternative options for main course offered but the staff were happy to swap a starter for a salad or a dessert for fruit, if we wished. The breakfast was also very good with healthy options of muesli, fresh fruit and fresh bread. Overall we enjoyed our stay. We would stay at the hotel again and would recommend the hotel to other travellers. Our room had no air conditioning. The sea breeze kept it reasonably cool at night but a fan would have helped when it was particularly warm.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were 2 families (4 and 3). Both rooms were nice and VERY spacious, with good views and great cross ventilation. Bathrooms were all new fixtures and also spacious. Our king bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had (though it had foot posts which one needed to avoid bumping). Maid service was perfect. Plenty of cupboard space. Our son had his own small adjoining room with TV and closeted sink. Both our families had the "full board" option and the food was very good, especially the dinners. Portions were large and all quite healthy in selection. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, breads, jams, etc.(usual). Dinner service was kind of funny in that each night every room had its same table. Also, they said we could put our cloth napkins in a paper envelope for re-use the next night (we wondered what the envelopes were for)--good environmentalism. The staff all spoke enough English for everyone to be understood. The woman who checked us in spoke excellent English, the manager spoke well enough and worked very hard to see that all details were being attended to. Dinner staff was a bit off, due to large rush of diners each night and obviously they were seasonal students so not entirely clued into waiting tables efficiently. The back yard (we stayed in the bldg with the green shutters/trim) was very nice for having wine before dinner. Our 12 yr olds enjoyed the ping pong table. Close walk to the beach (a couple blocks and down some public stairs). Our bathroom window had an ocean view, the other family's room had ocean views.

Room Tip: Even if you do not face the ocean side, the back yard-facing rooms were nice. The carpet in the 2 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very easy instructions led us to a very comfortable small, family run hotel.An overnight stay for us. The bed was the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip! Room was cosy and the shower was hot. Beautifully situated near to the beach and a short walk to town. Secure parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The staff is helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast is very nice. The location is very good, easy walking distance to the beach and town center. Free parking.

Room Tip: The room we had was bright and sunny, which may be a problem if you want to sleep late. They don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The room with the seaside view was big and comfortable. It is only minutes from the beach and a reasonable walk to the town. I enjoyed the hotel and the town very much

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas les Goelands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas les Goelands

Address: 4 et 6 Avenue d'Etcheverry, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas les Goelands 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villas les Goelands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Goelands
Les Goelands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas les Goelands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.