We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and SO convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques to your Saves list
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, Avenue de Verdun, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent and SO convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were initially a bit disappointed when we arrived at the hotel as it was right on a busy roundabout, opposite the railway station, with nowhere to park and meters on the side roads. I assumed that it would be very noisy and we would be paying a fortune to park the car. How wrong I was!
Yes, the hotel is on a busy road and our room was facing the roundabout, but thanks to the triple gazing the room was SO quiet inside and you didn’t hear the traffic (or the trains) at all. There was a really efficient air-con which was one of the quietest I have ever heard – you wouldn’t know it was on. As for parking, the railway station is right opposite and has a huge free 370 space car park next to it. The underpass outside the hotel meant it was a 2 minute walk to reach the car and in fact we left it there for the whole of our 5 day stay, going into Biarritz and Bayonne one day by train instead. It was all so convenient.
The hotel was exceptionally clean, has a lift, and the staff spoke very good English and all were so helpful and charming. We had a 6ft bed in our 3rd floor room and the bathroom was pretty large too. And as for the breakfast – really good value with lots of choice and well worth the extra. Our only very minor gripe was that apart from a few seats in the slightly office like reception area, there was nowhere to sit apart from on the bed (or the one upright chair) in the room, but I suppose that providing a seating area would mean a loss of a bedroom and wouldn't be worthwhile for what would be very limited use by guests. That was the only, and very minor, thing we could find to criticise!
The hotel is a short stroll, 10 minutes max along the harbour, from the middle of the town and the lovely beaches, and St Jean de Luz is a real family resort, unspoilt anf slightly 'quaint' with amazing restaurants, no drunkenness or silly behaviour, and the sort of place we would definitely like to return to – and yes, we would certainly stay at Qualys-Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front elevation are very sunny and, despite the proximity of the road, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
70
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Would most definitely recommend a stay here - as mentioned in previous reviews the location is great, central but very peaceful. The rooms are nice, great showers, good aircon, etc. However what really stood out was the customer service. The owner and staff are exceptionally friendly and obviously take great pride in their hotel. We found the free loan of beach towels, mats and parasol particularly useful. We didn't take breakfast until our last day, but wished we had gone sooner as it was very good, continental with eggs cooked on request, French newspapers and a printed sheet in English with a summary of the day's news - nice touch! Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this small hotel in St-Jean-De-Luz. It is in a great location - right across from the train station and very close to the main square. If you choose not to have breakfast at the hotel, there is a great bakery next door and grocery store just around the bend on the same street. The hotel is very quiet. In addition, while the rooms are small, they are modern and very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful as well. For example, a front desk clerk provided us with beach towels and an umbrella for the beach.

We also recommend staying in St-Jean-De-Luz. We loved it and could easily have stayed longer! A very charming, friendly and unique place with great restaurants and a beautiful beach. One highlight was free music on the square each night during the summer months. We also loved that the tourists seemed to be nearly all French which provided a more genuine, European experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We absolutely loved St Jean - de - Luz. It's a gentle and charming resort that still has the spirit of days gone by. The crowds are in Biarritz or San Sebastian.
I was so pleased that I booked the Le Relais St Jacques. I was worried it may be noisy due to it's central location across from the railway and bus station but the rooms are soundproofed and air conditioned (a blessing in the heat of July)
The owner Ann is just lovely and went out of her way to help us in many ways (even tracking down a fabric company we were trying to get in touch with) Her staff were also charming and helpful. The hotel is functional, clean, well located and excellent value for money.
I cant wait to return!

PS: Don't miss the Tuesday market if you visit this town -it's one of the best Ive seen! The food there is absolutely DELICIOUS!

Room Tip: we had a courtyard facing room at the back of the hotel. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in St Jean de Luz. Nice clean and well appointed rooms, not huge but very comfortable with their own A/C, minibar etc. We stayed in the privilege room and would recommend it. As mentioned in other reviews the triple glazing is amazingly effective making the room very quiet. Service and attention to detail by Ann and the girls was outstanding. All speak excellent English and really care about their guests. Strongly recommend. The market behind the hotel is excellent for food / produce.

Room Tip: Privilege room is worthwhile. King sized bed, top floor etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of the Pyrenees.
The hotel is very easy to find as it's located next to the railway station and has plenty of parking nearby.
Our room was a reasonable size and comfortable.The shower was amazing.
The breakfast room in the basement was a bit dingy and the choice of food was average.
The reception staff were especially friendly.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagetmau, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The receptionist Jennifer welcomed us around 10pm and actually took us to our rooms. This is rare in a middle range hotel. Tea and coffee was available, which is again rare in France and the mini-bar prices were good (for a hotel). The bed was excellent and spotlessly clean, there was however dust in a number of key places, which of course is down to housekeeping.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size, simply ASK. We had a view of the centre of the hotel, overlooking other rooms, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques

Address: 13, Avenue de Verdun, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais St-Jacques is a three star hotel which was completely updated and remodeled in spring 2009 to provide you the best comfort and quality.17 comfortable rooms with air-conditioning, flat screen TVs, internet access, original art in each room, minibar. Convenient elevator access to all floors makes the hotel easily accessible and simple to navigate for those with limited mobility.Our view rooms have a territorial views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.