We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple but beautiful attraction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pau Castle

Pau Castle
2, Rue du Chateau, 64000 Pau, France
05 59 82 38 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Pau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A simple but beautiful attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Chateaux in Pau dominates the old town. Located in the old town at the end of the Boulevard it is easy to find. I have visited the chateaux a couple of times during the summer months and it is always quiet. I have never had to fight through crowds and I have always been offered a guided tour in English, even when I was alone.

It only takes a short time to look around and it provides you with a historical background of the area, which you don't really get elsewhere. It is also a National Museum.

Entry isn't expensive and if you want some time out of the heat to take in some local and national history, it is certainly worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    115
    21
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“King Henry 1V”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were given a personal guided tour of this very well maintained castle and well worth making the effort to visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“small chateaux to be visited when you are around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

situated on the centre ville, this chateaux de pau is a landmark of pau. where one of the france king, if i am not mistaken king henry iv, born and grow up.... not much too see inside as the chateaux is relatively small compare to chambord or other big castle in the center of france.

there is a free guide every afternoon, and close by you have a selection of souvenir and some restaurants.... not to be missed if you visit pau

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdstown wv
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice but not spectacular!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've made it a passion of mine to visit castles all over Europe, and while this one is interesting, it does not rank at the top of my list! For one thing, there were no English speaking guides, and you must take the tour, no matter what language the guide is speaking. It seemed to go on and on, and not comprehending the guide made the tour seem interminable. The castle, by nature, is dark, cold and gloomy, as was the day we toured, which holds a certain historic ambience, however, having to sit and wait for the guide to finish rambling on about each room in a language I couldn't comprehend got a bit old. Perhaps in the summer season there are more English guides available. I'm not saying to skip it, but be prepared for a lengthy tour, whether you want it or not.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice visit, a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went with my family, the tour last about an hour or so.
It's great fun. It was interesting enough for our 5 yo son

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pau Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pau Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.