We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bristol
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
3 rue Gambetta, 64000 Pau, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Pau
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Lovely hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I spent two nights at the hotel , with my daughter and her friend who had just completed 6 months at school in France. We had to organise for excess luggage to be sent to Australia and had problems with the company involved, but the staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean , with a boutique hotel style.
The location in Pau is fabulous.I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Madam.

Thank you very much for taking the time to put all these compliments that strengthen us in our work every day.
We hope that your luggage is all well reached its destination and all the inconveniences will not spoil your stay in Pau.

Hoping to see you at an upcoming trip to Europe.
Wishing you a very good luck and thank you for your kindness.

Sincerely,

Michèle and Charles Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    47
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
118
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

intransigeant with the price negotiation, courtyard parking offered as a god-sent facility, ugly communal spaces. rooms OK attempting to impress with poor decorative innovations. minimum existence of facilities: bars, coffee-parlour, vistas and so on. Pau is a town perched in a palatial way. very humid in mid-July, overpriced and vitesse-driven in the successful joints. worth a visit. better hotels can be found at a lesser price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Gérant at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

I leave everyone to form an opinion about your criticism, going to see your other contributions.
Know Sir that we are listening to and serving our guests, to the growing evidence of positive reviews.
Sorry for not being able to satisfy you.

Please accept our best regards.

Charles and Michele Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Seeing this rated as the no. 1 hotel in Pau, perhaps my expectations were unduly high. My stay there was not a disaster but there were several problems:
- my wife booked the room and says she was told it was €80/night. I was a bit surprised therefore to find it was €92. Even so it had no view. Also this excludes breakfast, so overall I paid €103. The breakfast was OK. Annoyingly, they had rooms available for €76 but failed to mention that. My wife's French is excellent so I don't think there were any misunderstandings. My advice is to be sure what the cost of the room is when you book, and that it is the price you want to pay.
- no problems with the room or the bed, except that the bed comes with all sorts of throws, cushions, etc. - that's fine but you must turn down the bed yourself, it seems, and make a big pile on the floor of all the extra stuff. Not difficult, but it seems a bit gauche.
- the washbasin in the bathroom had no way of stopping the water flowing out, so no way of filling the basin. No overflow either. So you must wash/shave under running water only. or in the bath I suppose.
- I hung a "do not disturb" notice on the door, and locked it on the inside, but this did not stop the chambermaid from unlocking it and bursting in at 9am. Fortunately I was dressed!

None of these are showstoppers but they did detract somewhat from the experience. The hotel seems to attract mainly business travellers. However it is quite central and has parking, so may well be worth trying if you are touring the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Gérant at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

We accept your feedback that we want to bring some adjustments.
Your wife booked the room in the morning to the evening and by phone.
We offered her our availability, ie a second floor room (205) at a price 92 € + 11 € breakfast.
It is impossible as you say a 80 € room in a house as this rate does not exist (evidence of our prices displayed on our website, in the rooms, reception and outer panel).

Sorry Sir, if you have not enjoyed our decor. It is not difficult, it seems to me to arrange pillows in the closet.

By cons, we apologize for the error which occurred on the maid to bother you.

Sorry Sir if our hotel have not fully satify you.

Sincerely,

Charles and Michele Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had a wonderful three nights at the Bristol. Owner could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Room was very large, clean and well appointed, with a lovely big bathroom, very high ceilings. We used Pau as a base for exploring the Pyrenees but were pleasantly surprised by the city itself and had some great meals in town. The hotel is very well situated and once we were parked in the free parking everything was in walking distance. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Gérant at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is we who thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Pau.
It flatters us and we are delighted to have kept you a pleasant stay in our beautiful region.
Maybe see you again !
Good luck. Best regards and thank you again

Charles and Michèle Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our favorite hotel among several in different cities on this trip. Mostly because of one of the friendliest and most helpful hotel managers we have ever met. The room was large and the bathroom huge by French hotel standards. It is near the center of the the town within easy walking distance of just about everything.

The hotel has limited parking, but a rather complex route to find it (we came by train).

It does not have a restaurant of its own, but there are several good ones nearby. Breakfast is a fairly standard buffet-style meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Gérant at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

How not to be kind to people as charming as you! We have only done our hotel work, it seems to us quite normal to welcome host like that.
Your compliments confirm to us that we can make better and better to welcome our guests, so that they can enjoy a pleasant stay.

Delighted to have known you.

Again thank you, Sincerely,

Michele and Charles Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friendly welcome by our host who could understand English but not speak it. We were allocated room 402 on the fourth floor with views of the Pyrenees. This room has no block out curtains and as we had a plumbing problem we were moved to 403 the next day. Both rooms have the shower in the bath and fittings are high quality I just wonder how many people take baths these days as I would imagine a bath /shower would be more expensive than just putting in a shower. Rooms did not have a fridge but I think that is common in Europe. We could not connect to the wifi on the 4th floor but it worked perfectly on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to put this opinion.
The room 402a curtains occultantsque you have not seen. The patient had no difficulty at plumbing because recovery was the same evening. However, in order that your stay is as pleasant as possible you we changed you room.
As for wireless, it remains a mystery as other people were connected in other rooms of your. Mias effectively, IT might not always be perfect.
We are delighted that all these things have not messed your stay given the fact that we are very sensitive to the comfort of our guests.

Hoping your trip to Europe went well.

Sincerely.

Michele and Charles Fernandes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a room with a view of the Pyrenees. Shame they were mainly cloud covered!! Room was fabulous, mind, very large, very comfortable. The hotel has huge charm and character, and the owners were very helpful with some good recommendations for what to do and where to eat. Very good breakfasts. The setting is delightful, and we'd definitely stay there again..

Room Tip: Higher floors have the views of the mountains, but some of the lower ones had lovely balconies - tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBristol64, Propriétaire at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We are very pleased to have made ​​your stay pleasant and soliciting your taste buds.

Maybe we'll see you again. In any case, we hope.

Thank you for everything and good luck.
Sincerely.

Michele and Charles Fernandes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: 3 rue Gambetta, 64000 Pau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Pau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pau
#3 Business Hotel in Pau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 3-star Hotel Bristol. This 19th-century building, which was formerly the property of the Betharram Fathers, then of the bishopric in 1851, became a hotel in 1903. The hotel has been completely renovated since July 2006. Enjoying a central location in Pau, the hotel features 24 spacious soundproof bedrooms, equipped with telephone, free WIFI access, TV flat screen, TNT, canal+ and cable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Pau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.