We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Roches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel des Roches to your Saves list
Hotel des Roches
15 av de la Forge, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Blissful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very clean, very comfortable rooms and beds, very friendly, gorgeous pool, and only 5 mins walk into Les Eyzies. We stayed 4 nights in August, and absolutely loved it. We had 2 rooms (38 & 39) in the separate block at the rear of the hotel, (travelled with husband and 2 children aged 12 & 14). We opted out of taking the expensive breakfast (it's not compulsory!!) and strolled up into les Eyzies every morning to the Cafe de la Marie where we got a lovely breakfast for €5 each. We would not consider staying anywhere else in Les Eyzies, and will certainly be returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed one night in room 41, which is a separate building from the main hotel. The room was clean and adequate and there was good wifi access. €92 a night for two plus €10 each for a mediocre breakfast seems steep, compared with other hotels in the area, e.g. Edward 1er in Monpazier was the same price a far superior hotel. The reception staff were extremely helpful, and gave us good information about where to eat and that the Museum was open free that night. However, the cleaning staff were not helpful. On departure, with two heavy cases to wheel out, we were met with vacuum cleaners and trash bags littering our way. The cleaning staff saw the predicament, but made no attempt to move the obstructions out of the way. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A small hotel with a modest breakfast and a swimming pool right in Les Eyzies and a walking distance from the museum of prehistory and many restaurants plus a short drive to the caves with paintings. No restaurant on the premises but it is not necessary. The rooms are modest. Internet access is free and the rooms on the first floor to the left are more likely to have sufficient wireless. Hotel policy discourages hand washing but it is difficult to find a resource for laundry on a weekend. From here one could spend hours walking on the trails or take a canoe/kayak ride on the river.

Room Tip: Look for a room to the left of the front door and on the first floor if good internet access is requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

A very peaceful hotel. Our 15month old son was welcomed and the cot very clean and comfortable, as was the room. Parking was perfect and the welcome good. breakfast was good. the village was quiet at this end but more life further in, not that we had far to walk. we dined in a small pizzeria/bistro and it was one of the best value meals of our two weeks in France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in August. The owners and staff were really charming and helpful. It was great having the pool which we sometimes had to ourselves, and it was the perfect place to relax with a chilled beer after a morning sightseeing.

Although breakfast was extra it was very substantial and you can always get a simpler breakfast from the cafes in the village. It was also lovely to return from the many family run restaurants after dinner to a nightcap drink from the bar and sit by the illuminated pool to wind down.

The rooms were well presented and beds comfortable. There is a tv in the room and plenty of parking. No mini bar in case that is important to you.

The only thing missing would have been some draws for clothes but there is some shelving in the wardrobe.

Would definitely go back if I was in the dordogne again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West,England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

90 euros was about right for this hotel in comparison with others on this trip . . . no view, no fridge, but we were renting a room. Front office staff fine, bed was comfy. The town's a bit naff, and shuts up early. Didnt use the pool but it looked well

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Lovely owners, super rooms and grounds. Fabulous pool all located in Les Eyzies town. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Roches

Address: 15 av de la Forge, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel des Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Roches France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Roches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.