We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchantment in the trees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateaux Dans les Arbres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergerac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateaux Dans les Arbres
Save
You added Chateaux Dans les Arbres to your Saves list
Puybeton | Nojals-et-Clotte, 24440 Bergerac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enchantment in the trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked this some time ago and it exceeded my expectations. Utterly enchanting and the chance to experience a childhood dream. The service was expectional, the surroundings beautiful and the treehouses exceptional. We cannot wait to return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What an amazing and unique place, 5 star luxury in the trees! We stayed 2 nights in the 1 bedroon Monbazillac. You really need a minimum of 2 nights to appreciate this. A couple of things I would point out is this tree house is in oak trees and we stayed 6th and 7th October, so during the very quiet nights we would hear the odd crack of an acorn hitting the roof, so if you're a light sleeper then maybe avoid autumn. We arrived on a Sunday evening so took the hamper that was on offer for our first evening, 58euros for the hamper of Foie Gras,2 saucisson, potted duck meat, warm baguettes, 2 pureed apple desert, a half bottle of red and half bottle of white (desert wine, wery sweet). Thought the hamper was a little expensive for what it was but hey its France and everything is a little expensive. Very quiet part of the world at the beginning of October and for our second night (a monday) we decideed to eat out. Unfortunately both the local restaurants were closed on Monday, so the lovely girl at reception sorted us a restaurant in Issigeac (restaurant Le relais de l’ancienne gare) which is a good 15km away, she also order us a taxi. Restaurant was lovely but quiet (we were the only 2 guests all night) and very reasonable with 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 2 coffees and 1L carafe of house wine coming to 75 euros. The taxi was 90euros for the round trip which was a bit of a shock but it was our only option if we wanted to enjoy some wine with our meal.

Highlight was sitting in hot tub (which is awesome) up in the trees with a glass or three of local red wine under the stars........... perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited the real Chateau Monbazillac the next day but the tree house version is much more comfortable! A romantic hideaway it would be impossible to beat - I would go back any time of year but it must be wonderful to lie in the hot tub on frosty night and see the stars through the bare trees before retiring into a cosy, heated cabin. I loved watching the blue sky and hearing the wind rustle in the trees or just sitting gazing at the view over the woods and hills of the Bergerac. We brought a wine and cheese picnic but the Cartes des Vins was very reasonable and they will bring in a sumptuous cold collation. How they manage such hot showers and efficient plumbing up a tree is nothing short of an engineering miracle but it all works and is so comfortable. I swam in the infinity pool, admiring the view over the distant hills and went running through the woods and fields. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: For a couple Monbazillac has to have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in the largest of these, which had its own kitchen etc and a large jacuzzi, sleeps 6, the greeting was Professional and so helpful, we were walked to the House and made to feel very welcome. The accommodation was Luxury at a high level and you can tell that a lot of love and time was spent creating these special places. If you want to really enjoy it to is max,stay no less than 2 nights.
Beds are comfortable,bathrooms up to date and stunning, Kitchen fully equipped and the most modern of appliances.
This was one of the best experience we have had for a very long time and if your in this area, one that you really should look at spending time.
The 2 smaller ones are B&B with the largest one being both ,self catering and B&B if you wish
There is only 3 cabins in the trees and you feel like you the only ones there and your very spoilt, they are VERY POPULAR, quite often booked up early, so if you want a wonderful memory, book early and you will not be disappointed.
you cannot park you car near the tree house, but they help you with you luggage, in a golf buggy.
LOVED IT, was a FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE AND MEMORY. And would go back again, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Oh and the staff and Fantastic :)

Room Tip: Each tree house has its separate Spa and robes and there is also a main pool near the reception that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

...because it will be impossible to get booked in next year!

This is a magical place to stay, the whole site is geared to providing a tranquil and magical environment for families and couples to relax.

Half ewok village, half fairy tale castle the tree houses are built in to their surroundings and provide fantastic accommodation. The interiors are expertly done, and very stylish. The views from the treehouse, the infinity pool and the panoramic terrace are amazing.

Unreservedly deserving of 5* reviews... One of the best places we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the Milandes treehouse, which sleeps 2 adults and 2 kids. This is a place where dreams are made, the attention to detail is amazing, the comfort second to none and the peace and tranquility (apart from my own noisy children) was fabulous.

The tree houses are so spectacularly made, jacuzzi a fabulous touch. Breakfast was very generous and pulled up by rope in a basket overflowing with croissants, baguettes ham cheese etc.

A great pool, ping pong, boules all available for you to enjoy.

Car hire is essential.

The nearest place for groceries is about ten minutes away in Beaumont-du-Périgord where there is a large supermarket and a beautiful square with some nice cafes. The restaurant in Sainte Sabine which is very close is excellent, booking recommended.

Overall a wonderful, magical place which we will return to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Chateaux dans les Arbres for our honeymoon in August for 1 week. From the moment we set off to get to our accommodation we knew that it would be amazing. The entire drive there was like something from a film, it was stunning. We arrived and were warmly greeted and shown to out treehouse. The staff were so friendly and did everything they could to make it special for us. The treehouse was so special. The design is mind blowing and Remi has done such an incredible job. The treehouse was so comfortable and the views were fantastic. Every detail had been considered and it worked so well. It felt luxurious, peaceful and relaxing. The jacuzzi on the balcony was a great touch.

We had the chef cook for us on the first night which was another great touch as we didn't want to leave our treehouse because it was such a cool place to be. Breakfast every morning was a treat and it was wholesome and delicious.

The grounds of the treehouse are so beautiful and the pool was so relaxing. I would definitely come back and i want everyone to experience it because it was just so much fun and beautiful.

You definitely need a car to stay here but this is by no means a negative point. The whole point of the treehouses are that they are secluded, relaxing and restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Monbazillac treehouse which is by far the most secluded of the three treehouses and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateaux Dans les Arbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateaux Dans les Arbres

Address: Puybeton | Nojals-et-Clotte, 24440 Bergerac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Castles in the Trees" invite you to climb to the tree tops. Admire their natural surroundings of meadows and woods. Each interior offers you a universe imbued with individuality and refinement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateaux Dans les Arbres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.