We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvellous b and b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos d'Argenson

Save Saved
You added Le Clos d'Argenson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos d'Argenson
99, rue Neuve d'Argenson, 24100 Bergerac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Bergerac B&B and Inns
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“marvellous b and b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Clos d'Argenson. Wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and were always happy to help. The house has been very lovingly restored and we had a huge suite with lots of character. There is a peaceful garden with a lovely pool- very welcome on summer afternoons- and excellent breakfasts on the terrace. A very special place in an excellent location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dears,
It is very kind of you to have written this nice review.
We are very happy that you felt good in our guest house,
Thanks a lot
Best regards
Pascal and Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one night on the way back to the Netherlands and loved it!!
What a beautiful house, garden, swimmingpool and what a spacious rooms!!
The hosts were fantastic, reommended a restaurant we thouroughly enjoyed.
We had a private car parking which makes it very easyand safe and the breakfast was perfect.

Thanks again for a wonderfull stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Walter,
Many thanks for your pleasing review; we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our guest house.
Best regards
Pascal and Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in Bergerac en route to the Pyrenees and Spain. We knew nothing about flooding in the area when we arrived. Pascal asked us where we were planning to stay next and advised us against travelling to the area. He was amazingly helpful, ensuring that we were able to book an alternative; making sure we didn't lose our deposit and checking access to Spain through an alternative route.

The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast really excellent.

Pascal also recommended restaurants in the area so we were able to have a really good meal nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dears,
We thank you for your nice review. It was a pleasure to receive you.
we are glad that your crossing in Pyrennes was right, and that you found easily your spanish hotel.
We wish a good stay in Spain.
Best regards
Pascal and Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a long transatlantic flight and yet another leg in Europe, we were grateful to be warmly welcomed by Laurenc. She helped us park our rental car safely and offered us an adult beverage. Our room was clean and airy. As we speak only a few words of French, she recommended a terrific little restaurant and made the reservation for us. Then she actually walked several blocks with us to the restaurant. Laurenc and Pascal prepared and served a delicious breakfast in the pretty dining room as it was too chilly to sit outside the morning we were there. We would have stayed longer, but had already made other arrangements for the remainder of our vacation. This is THE hotel in Bergerac.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mary,
Many thanks for your kindly review; it was a pleasure to receive, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bergerac.
Kind regards
Pascal and Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a find! We have just spent 3 fabulous nights here! Owners Laurence & Pascal gave us a most wonderful warm welcome and were so attentive & hospitable, without being intrusive. They gave us excellent advise where to eat/not eat, places to visit etc. Where in the centre any other city would you find such a superb hotel with a garden, swimming pool & private garage?! It was like finding an oasis in the dessert! The house has clearly been loving restored with beautiful traditional furniture, with some modern pieces that complement so well. The bathroom was of a particularly high standard and both the bed & sitting rooms were, large, comfortable and spacious. Whilst not the cheapest, this hotel is worth every penny and we would highly reccommend it!
Jane & Bruce
Worthing, West Sussex

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Jane and Bruce,
We thank you for all these good words which you have written in your review.
It was a pleasure for us to receive you and to give to you all you could need and wish
Best wishes
Pascal and Laurence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here as two couples and had the top two suites. Like other reviewers we thought Laurence and Pascal really made this place. Nothing seemed too much For them. We had helpful recommendations for restaurants and where to visit. The house is beautiful as are the gardens. We were lucky enough with the weather to be able to sit outside by the pool and have breakfast on the terrace.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the garden suite as the other one had a (rare) noise issue with the fair. Not the owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just left after a wonderful 5 nights with fantastic hosts Pascal and Laurence. We travelled with our two children aged 3&6 and were made to feel like part of the family-nothing was a problem. The huge suite was perfect-we were in one room and the children in their own beds in the other room. Gorgeous big shower. Breakfast was delicious, home made cake & jams, such fresh croissants and bread, fruit, cheese. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful - with routes, things to do, booking a restaurant for us-Pascal even coming out on his bike to show us to the restaurant as we couldn't find it! We didn't use the swimming pool as the weather hasn't been great but it looked lovely. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast and wine in the evening was a delight. The location is perfect, allowing us to walk everywhere. We will definitely be back to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear "little family",
We thank very much for your sweet review !
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay our guest house.
We are trying to do a nice and pleasant abode.
We will receive you again, with pleasure.
Best wishes
Pascal and Laurence
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Clos d'Argenson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos d'Argenson

Address: 99, rue Neuve d'Argenson, 24100 Bergerac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming B&B in the 19°century town house, in the heart of Bergerac city center, with a secret garden and swimming pool.4 luxury suites. In summer breakfasts served on the terrace overlooking the garden and the pool or in the larg dinning room.French billard, library, training room.Free WIFI access. Free private parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos d'Argenson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos d'Argenson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.